Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian HoursLibrary CatalogArticle Databases RESEARCH SERVICESHELPINFORMATION FOR...

African American History : Using Primary Resources

Primary vs. Secondary sources

Is your source a primary source or a secondary source?  Use this chart developed by the MU Libraries.

http://www.marshall.edu/library/services/primary_vs_secondary.asp

Watch this video on the difference between primary and secondary sources.

Is a newspaper a primary or secondary source?  Watch this video to find out.

TPS sources

Why use primary resources? http://www.loc.gov/teachers/usingprimarysources/

Examining primary sources gives students a powerful sense of history and the complexity of the past. Helping students analyze primary sources can also guide them toward higher-order thinking and better critical thinking and analysis skills.

http://www.loc.gov/teachers/

The Library of Congress offers 19 millions digital items, classroom materials and professional development to help teachers effectively use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections in their teaching.

Find Library of Congress lesson plans and more that meet Common Core standards, state content standards, and the standards of national organizations.

MU Resources

Marshall Digital Collections - http://www.marshall.edu/library/speccoll/digitalcoll.asp - Continuously updated collections of state and local materials owned by Marshall University Libraries' Special Collections.

Virtual Museum - http://www.marshall.edu/library/speccoll/virtualmuseum.asp - The Virtual Museum contains exhibits of materials drawn mainly from Special Collections, as well as other institutions, covering a wide variety of topics and themes.

WSAZ 50 Years Ago Today - http://www.marshall.edu/library/speccoll/50_years_ago/ - With the click of a mouse, 50 Years Ago Today: As Seen On WSAZ-TV News will allow viewers on the Internet to watch vintage film and video of local, state and national news that occurred 50 years ago on that exact date, as written and reported by the WSAZ-TV news staff of 50 years ago.

ArtStor - http://www.artstor.org/index.shtml - ARTstor is a digital library currently containing over one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching purposes. This collection chronicles artistic traditions across many times and cultures and embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, and numerous other forms of visual culture.

LexisNexis - http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/lnacademic/ - This comprehensive database provides full-text documents from over 5,900 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.

Points of View - http://web.a.ebscohost.com/pov/search/basic?sid=8da39f5e-7cad-4d11-8410-c29369d40454%40sessionmgr4008&vid=0&hid=4114 - Points of View Reference Center is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. This is a good source to find radio and television news transcripts.

Additional resources

If I Apply source evaluation. This is a new technique developed by MU Librarians.

A simple five step test to evaluate information.

Primary sources and copyright.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Kelli Johnson
 
Contact:
Drinko Library 339
Contact: Facebook Page