Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian HoursLibrary CatalogArticle Databases RESEARCH SERVICESHELPINFORMATION FOR...

African American History : Web & Other Resources

Notifications

Check the CGW Lyceum Summer Teachers' Institute tab for additional resources.

Web & Other Resources

Whenever possible, I have used the organization's/website's description.

AAIHS (African American Intellectual History Society). Scholarly organization developed to foster dialogue about researching, writing and teaching black thought and culture. 

African American Civil War Museum The mission of the African American Civil War Museum is to correct a great wrong in history that largely ignored the enormous contributions of the 209,145 members of the United States Colored Troops.

African American Families Database Map the journey of African-American families before and after the Civil War with this online database of genealogical records from Albemarle County, Virginia.

African American History Month A collaborative effort. 

American Folklife Center (Library of Congress). National center for folklife documentation; archive of millions of ethnographic audiovisual items.

Black History Month online archive.

Black Male Archives

BlackPast Dedicated to providing the inquisitive public with comprehensive, reliable, and accurate information concerning the history of African Americans in the United States and people of African ancestry in other regions of the world. 

Charles H. Wright Museum of African American History Founded in 1965, the Charles H. Wright Museum of African American History has for over half a century been a leading institution dedicated to the African American experience.

Chronicling America's Dispatches (National Endowment for the Humanities). Ten historical African American newspapers from South Carolina. 

Civil Rights Digital Library Project of several libraries in Georgia to document the struggle for civil rights and racial equality.

Clio - web and app History at your fingertips. Clio also acts as a 'virtual time machine,' allowing a user to see images and videos and hear and read about historic events that happened around them.

Diversity webliography Developed by Marshall University Government Documents Library staff.

Guide to Black History (National Archives) 

Jacob Lawrence A pdf brochure about the artist's inspiration from the National Gallery of Art.

Jacob Lawrence bio and works from the National Gallery of Art.

Library of Congress Bibliographies, Research Guides, and Finding Aids

Library of Congress webguides (Web Guides by the Library of Congress Digital Reference Section)

Memphis Tennessee Garrison links:  Civil Rights Trail; E-WV entry; Wikipedia entry

National Museum of African American History & Culture 

National Archives African American Heritage research and list of other online resources

Negro Motorist Green Book New York Public Library digital collection of Green Books.

Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture

The Undefeated Platform exploring the intersections of race, sports, and culture.

University of South Alabama List of online resources.

We Shall Overcome (Historic Places of the Civil Rights Movement; National Park Service)

West Virginia History ONView (WVU)

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Kelli Johnson
 
Contact:
Drinko Library 339
Contact: Facebook Page