Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Article Sources for Graphic Novels
As the study of graphic novels is multidisciplinary, a searcher will want to consult multiple databases to find all possible information. The following list will each have hits when searching for graphic novels, manga or comic books:
- Academic Search Complete
The worlds largest academic multi-disciplinary database.
- America: History & Life
Over 231,000 journal articles, more than 107,000 book and media reviews, and over 41,500 dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
Extensive coverage of core journals in communication and mass media studies, related journals and reviews, as well as encyclopedias and handbooks.
- Dissertations & Theses
The world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.
- Historical Abstracts
Historical coverage of the world, excluding the United States and Canada. Includes the key historical journals from virtually every major country.
- MLA International Bibliography
Coverage is international and scholarly. Subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Contains over two million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, all in the field of psychology.
- Sociological Abstracts
Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers, and citations to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.