Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian HoursLibrary CatalogArticle Databases RESEARCH SERVICESHELPINFORMATION FOR...

Military Science: Journal & Magazine Articles

This online guide is developed specifically for those doing research in Military Science. It provides a recommended list of resources, which encompasses print materials, electronic databases, and selected Internet resources.

Does The Library Have your Article

Once you have a citation for your article:

  1. Try Journals Search

    Look up the title of the journal or magazine that your article appeared in. If the periodical shows up on the list, follow the link to the article database that contains it or find the copy in the library.

  2. If you need a book the library doesn't own, you can request a copy through E-Z Borrow. In addition, you can request articles and books through Information Delivery Services. Most articles are delivered over the web at no charge; paper copies are .10 a page.

Journal & Magazine Articles

The online and print databases and indexes listed below will provide references to articles (or in some cases full-text articles) in a wide range of periodicals, from news magazines and newspapers to scholarly and professional journals. If you have questions about choosing or using a database or index, please consult a Librarian

Full-Text Databases

  • Military & Government Collection - EBSCOhost
    Offers current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 400 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 500 titles. Coverage: varies
  • Academic Search Complete - EBSCOhost
    The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.

Indexes & Bibliographic Databases

These databases and print indexes will provide citation information (author, article title, periodical name, volume & issue, date) for articles, essays, book chapters, dissertations, and other materials, which may be found in the MU Libraries by searching the library catalog or ordered from another library using the Information Delivery Services (IDS) if the items are not owned by MU Libraries.

  • America: History & Life - EBSCOhost
    Over 231,000 journal articles, more than 107,000 book and media reviews, and over 41,500 dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada. Coverage: Periodicals dating from 1954
  • Historical Abstracts - EBSCOhost
    Historical coverage of the world, excluding the United States and Canada. Includes the key historical journals from virtually every major country. Coverage: 1450 to the present
  • Humanities Index Ref. AI3.H85 .

Journal Links for Military Science

The following periodicals in Military Studies are available in print format in the MU Libraries or online: