LibGuides: Physical Therapy: Ebooks

Ebook Myths

Myth
All ebooks can be downloaded

Publishers may place restrictions on ebooks which prevent them from being downloaded. Sometimes they allow the whole book to be downloaded and other times you are limited to a certain number of pages.

Myth
You need an e-reader to view ebooks

Ebooks can be viewed on iPads, smartphones, computers, tablets, or other devices which have the appropriate software.

Myth
All ebooks can be printed

Publishers can limit the number of pages printed from an ebook.

Example: Most ebooks in Ebrary allow a maximum of 60 pages printed per day. Some publishers though, have set a more restrictive printing limit for their books in Ebrary.

Myth
All ebooks are free

The library arranges for the purchase and subscription of our e-book collections. Access is permitted for all current faculty, staff, and students. Free eblooks are available through other sources.These can complement the MU ebook collections.

Common Ebook File Formats

ePub
A free and open standard e-book file format, adopted by the International Digital Publishing Forum.
PDF
A file format created by Adobe.
PDFs are widely supported by most e-book readers and smartphones.
Kindle Format 8
Proprietary DRM restricted file format for Amazon Kindle.
Mobi
File format used for some PDAs as well as the Kindle

MU Ebooks

eBooks on EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Our EBSCO e-book collection in partnership with PALCI consortium consists of more than 200,000 items from Academic, Business, Community College, Engineering, History, Medical, Public Library, Religion, and University Press collections available on EBSCO's dedicated E-book Collection interface. These collections are also searchable as part of the regular EBSCOhost databases platform. Access is easy and most e-books can be downloaded to portable devices. For more information see: EBSCO eBooks.
Gale Databases This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of all Gale online reference sources including literary collections, and reference e-books.
Gale eBooks (GVRL) This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks (formerly known as Gale Virtual Reference Library) is a collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources with coverage in major subject areas.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
ProQuest Ebook Central™ This link opens in a new window
Credible content from authoritative, scholarly sources. Ebook Central delivers, with breadth and depth of ebooks from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers. Our Ebrary Business & Economics - Legacy Collection now resides on this platform. How to access e-books.
Credible content from authoritative, scholarly sources. Ebook Central delivers, with breadth and depth of ebooks from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers. Our Ebrary Business & Economics - Legacy Collection now resides on this platform.

Credo Reference
Now offering more than 800 highly regarded reference titles from over 80 publishers, Credo Reference covers every major subject and also provides Topic Pages as a starting point for researchers.

Ebooks from local and regional libraries

Check area public and state-wide libraries for additionial ebook selections. Marshall faculty, staff, and students are eligible to obtain borrowing privileges at the Cabell County Public Library.

Cabell County Public Library
Cabell County Public Library participates in WV Reads which offers downloadable ebooks and audio ebooks through Overdrive. A CCPL library card is required. Get more information about obtaining a card here: http://www.cabell.lib.wv.us/pages/cc-LibraryHelp-LibraryCard.html
WV Library Commission
The WV Library Commission has several digital collections that state residents can access with a WVLC card. Collections include ebooks, audio ebooks, and Zinio which provides online access to select popular magazines. Call 1-800-642-9021 to find out how to apply for a state library card.

Free Public Ebooks

e-WV: The West Virginia Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
This online encyclopedia is a produced by the WV Humanities Council and is the online equivalent of the print WV Encyclopedia.

Google Books
Search and preview millions of books from libraries and publishers worldwide using Google Book Search
HathiTrust Digital Repository
HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository.
Internet Archive: Ebook and Texts Archives
Download free books and texts.
Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg offers over 40,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.
The Complete Works of William Shakespeare
Web's first edition of the Complete Works of William Shakespeare. This site has offered Shakespeare's plays and poetry to the Internet community since 1993.

Useful eBooks for Physical Therapy

Physical Therapy of the Shoulder by Robert A. Donatelli
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781437707403
Publication Date: 2011-04-05
The leading reference on shoulder rehabilitation, Physical Therapy of the Shoulder, 5th Edition provides complete information on the functional anatomy of the shoulder, the mechanics of movement, and the evaluation and treatment of shoulder disorders.
Compact Clinical Guide to Geriatric Pain Management by Ann Quinlan-Colwell
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780826107305
Publication Date: 2011-12-01
This comprehensive guide to geriatric pain management provides the most current information available on assessment and treatment of pain in older adults. In a concise, reader-friendly format, the book provides techniques, tips, and tools for assessing pain and examines barriers to appropriate treatment.
Orthopaedic Physical Therapy by Robert A. Donatelli; Michael J. Wooden
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780443069420
Publication Date: 2009-07-27
Provide the best care for your patients by improving your technical and decision-making skills with this all-inclusive text. From basic sciences to detailed information on specific technologies and surgeries, this comprehensive resource has the content you need to expand your expertise in the treatment of musculoskeletal dysfunction.

Using Ebooks

Make the most out of Marshall ebooks. View the Ebooks@ Marshall LibGuide for instructions on using ebooks on a variety of devices. Remember that many of our ebooks can be used anytime and anywhere and you never have to worry about overdue fines!

About this page

Thanks to Yavapai College for allowing us to freely use the content from their Ebooks LibGuide

Yavapai College Ebooks Guide