LibGuides: ENG 200s: Recommended Databases

Access the Article Database by clicking on the green title

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals. (NOTE: Replaces Academic Search Premier)
ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
ArchiveGrid includes over 7 million records from archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, and historical societies that bring together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher is often the first source that librarians recommend when researchers are seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Now offering more than 800 highly regarded reference titles from over 80 publishers, Credo Reference covers every major subject and also provides Topic Pages as a starting point for researchers.
Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new window
The Dictionary of Literary Biography provides reliable information on authors and their works in an easy-to-understand, engaging format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history. The Dictionary of Literary Biography includes the main series, documentary, and yearbook volumes.
Gale Databases This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of all Gale online reference sources including literary collections, and reference e-books.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
An integrated research experience that brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways. Includes access to online volumes of Dictionary of Literary Biography, Gale Literature Criticism, Something About the Author, and Gale eBooks.
JSTOR [Free and Open Content] This link opens in a new window
Use JStor All Content tab to search for open access and free content via JSTOR. JStor is multidisciplinary and contains books, journals, reports, and primary resources. The search page automatically defaults to return only content our users can access unless one changes the filter to include “everything” in the Access Type section of the left column of filters.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
Something About The Author This link opens in a new window
Something About the Author provides comprehensive access to all volumes ever printed in Gale's™ acclaimed and long-standing Something About the Author series, which examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people. Something About the Author includes both the main series and Something About the Author Autobiography Series, totaling more than 290 volumes, 20,000 entries, and nearly 30,000 images.

Film Studies/Theory (ex: ENG 232)

To find journals with scholarly research on films, try these options:

Browzine is our journal search database. Click on that link, and then click on the subject heading Arts & Humanities. You will see a sub-heading called Film and Media Studies, and then you can choose from the relevant options. You could also enter search terms such as Film Studies or Film Theory into the search box. *The key thing to remember is that Browzine provides you with a list of journals, rather than a list of articles. Sometimes, you can directly access articles, and sometimes we don't have access. If you're even unsure about finding full-text articles, just Ask A Librarian.
Because film studies and film theory can often involve many different types of disciplines, you may want to use a resource on our Multidisciplinary Database list.

MU doesn't have it? Get it from another library!

Visit the Information Delivery Services page to request a book, article, DVD, or other materials from another university library in the event that Marshall Libraries can't provide access.

ENG 200s: Recommended Databases

Start Here

Background info

Access the Article Database by clicking on the green title

Film Studies/Theory (ex: ENG 232)

To find journals with scholarly research on films, try these options:

MU doesn't have it? Get it from another library!