Finding the Literature - SOC 200 - Sims - LibGuides at Marshall University

Finding Sources for your Lit Review

Use the library's resources to find credible, scholarly information for your research assignment.

Use Summon, the "library's Google" to cast a wide net

Enter your search terms (can be broad or specific), and use the filters on the results page to curate a list of trustworthy, academic sources about your area of interest.

Resources that are available instantly online via your MU credentials can be accessed by clicking "View PDF" or "Full Text Online."
Resources that are available in print in one of our MU Libraries will provide the location and call number information.
Resources that exist but which we don't have online or in print can be borrowed from another library for free by using the Request Button or options via Information Delivery Services.

Search a discipline-specific database to cast a smaller net

The databases below will allow you to search for information the same way Summon does.

Sociology & Related Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals. (NOTE: Replaces Academic Search Premier)
Sage Knowledge Collection This link opens in a new window
Sage Knowledge is a searchable collection of books, reference books, and more from Sage Knowledge. It includes: Academic Books | CQ Press | Reference | and Navigator See website for further information on each of these collections. Users can limit their browse or search to only content available for MU if desired.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Anthrosource offers access to more than 100 years of anthropological knowledge. It serves the research, teaching and practicing needs of anthropologists. An online service of the American Anthropological Association (AAA), Anthrosource provides current content from AAA's diverse portfolio of 32 anthropological publications which includes journals, books, monographs, bulletins and newsletters.
ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
ArchiveGrid includes over 7 million records from archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, and historical societies that bring together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more.
Cambridge Journals: 2023 Full Collection This link opens in a new window
More than 380 peer-reviewed academic journals covering subjects across the humanities, social sciences and science, technology and medicine.
Marshall Digital Scholar (MDS) This link opens in a new window
Marshall Digital Scholar serves to collect, preserve, and provide global access to the scholarly and creative work of faculty, students, and alumni of Marshall University, as well as university publications, images, recordings, archives, and special collections, in order to promote discovery, research, and collaboration across disciplines and institutions.
Includes Marshall University students' theses and dissertations.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided. Provided by the WV Library Commission.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Scholarship Online offers access to thousands of academic works from the celebrated scholarly list of Oxford University Press, covering subjects across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law.

Additional Databases

Reference (background)

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Now offering more than 800 highly regarded reference titles from over 80 publishers, Credo Reference covers every major subject and also provides Topic Pages as a starting point for researchers.
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Points of View is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. Use Points of View as a guide to debating, developing arguments, writing position papers, and developing critical thinking skills. Each Points of View Essay includes a series of questions and additional material to generate further thought. Also included are thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications.
Gale eBooks (GVRL) This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks (formerly known as Gale Virtual Reference Library) is a collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources with coverage in major subject areas.

Statistics:

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a statistical database that draws more that 1 million statistics from over 18,000 sources. Dossiers, reports, and infographics are included. Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.
Dimensions This link opens in a new window
Dimensions lets you search and analyze over 150 million interlinked data items from across the research world. You can locate items from publications to grants, clinical trials, patents, datasets, and policy documents, then view them in context, analyze results in bulk, and trace relationships. Dimensions is similar to platforms such as Pubmed, Scopus and Web of Science, but with a much wider and more open scope.

eBooks

Taylor & Francis eBooks (Open Access) This link opens in a new window
Open access books and book chapters published by Taylor & Francis, with content available across subject areas including economics, environment & sustainability, geography, history, law, media & cultural studies, politics, sociology and more.
eBook Diversity & Ethnic Studies (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This subscription collection includes academic eBooks related to diversity, anti-racism, ethnic studies, disability studies, gerontology & age studies, migration studies, gender and sexuality studies, cultural studies, and religious studies. The collection utilizes outside resources and scholarship to ensure that the collection remains up to date and aligned with current research.

SOC 200 - Sims: Finding the Literature