SAMHSA’s National Helpline is a free, confidential, 24/7, 365-day-a-year treatment referral and information service (in English and Spanish) for individuals and families facing mental and/or substance use disorders.
Click image for larger map
Information about mental health resources can now be found at various places around campus and in Drinko Library study rooms.
Information and Referral
Our Mission
To link people with needs to the appropriate resources to meet their needs.
Database of Community Resources
A searchable database of agencies and organizations in the Cabell-Wayne County area.
Internet Address for the Database: http://services.cabell.lib.wv.us/
The Database of Community Resources for Cabell and Wayne County, WV, is maintained by Information and Referral Service and located on the Cabell County Public Library’s website.
How to use the I&R Database
AGENCY NAME: If you know the name of the agency, use the “Agency Name” box: Type just one unique word in the title. For example, if looking for “Mountain State Centers for Independent Living,” type: “ Independent“ in the “Agency Name” box and enter “Search.” A short list of choices would pop up with that word in their name. Click on the desired agency.
SUBJECT AREA: If you aren’t sure of the agency name, use the “Subject Area” box: Type the first letter of the chosen subject and scroll through the various subject names. For example, if looking for substance abuse programs, type the letter “ S “. The word “Safety” will pop up. Scroll through the subjects beginning with “S” until you find “Substance Abuse”. Enter “Search”.
COUNTY SERVED: If you want a listing of all agencies in a particular county, select that county’s name from the drop down box and enter “Search”. Notice that Cabell and Wayne Co. are listed at the top of this box.
To conduct a subject search for a specific county, click on the desired subject and county, before entering “Search” .
DELETING A SEARCH: To clear a box before conducting a new search, scroll to the very top and click on the solid blue line. The box will become empty.
Services
You can find the answers to these common questions at Information and Referral.
And more…
Location/Hours
3rd floor Cabell County Public Library
455 9th Street
Huntington, WV 25701
Monday-Friday, 10:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.
Contact Us:
Tel: +1 304-528-5660
Fax: +1 304-399-3501(Attn: I & R)
Email: iandr@cabell.lib.wv.us
Community, State, and National Anxiety and Depression Resources
Anxiety and Depression Association of America - https://adaa.org/living-with-anxiety/ask-and-learn/resources
ADAA works to prevent, treat, and cure anxiety disorders and depression. ADAA focuses on improving quality of life for those with these disorders. ADAA provides education about the disorders and helps people find treatment, resources, and support. More than 38 million people visit ADAA's website each year - from all across the globe. ADAA strives to improve patient care by promoting implementation of evidence-based treatments and best practices across disciplines through continuing education and trainings and accelerating the dissemination of research into practice. ADAA promotes scientific innovation and engages a diverse network of basic and clinical anxiety and depression researchers and providers encouraging the implementation of new treatments to clinicians.
National Institute of Mental Health - https://www.nimh.nih.gov/index.shtml
The National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) is the lead federal agency for research on mental disorders. NIMH is one of the 27 Institutes and Centers that make up the National Institutes of Health (NIH), the largest biomedical research agency in the world. NIH is part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).
Mental Health America - https://www.mentalhealthamerica.net/
Mental Health America (MHA) – founded in 1909 – is the nation's leading community-based nonprofit dedicated to addressing the needs of those living with mental illness and to promoting the overall mental health of all Americans. Our work is driven by our commitment to promoting mental health as a critical part of overall wellness, including prevention services for all, early identification and intervention for those at risk, integrated care, services, and supports for those who need it, with recovery as the goal. Much of our current work is guided by the Before Stage 4 (B4Stage4) philosophy – that mental health conditions should be treated long before they reach the most critical points in the disease process.
National Network of Depression Centers - https://nndc.org/
The National Network of Depression Centers (NNDC) develops and fosters connections among members to use the power of our network to advance scientific discovery, and to provide stigma-free, evidence-based care to patients with depressive and bipolar illnesses.
National Trauma Resources
The National Child Traumatic Stress Network - https://www.nctsn.org/resources
The National Child Traumatic Stress Network (NCTSN) was created to raise the standard of care and increase access to services for children and families who experience or witness traumatic events.
Child Mind Institute - https://childmind.org/our-impact/trauma-response/guides/
The Child Mind Institute has prepared free trauma resources to aid parents, educators, and other adults in talking to children and adolescents about potentially traumatic events and identifying those who might benefit from more focused professional attention.
National Center on Domestic Violence, Trauma, and Mental Health - http://www.nationalcenterdvtraumamh.org/publications-products/resources-on-trauma/
The mission of the National Center on Domestic Violence, Trauma & Mental Health is to develop and promote accessible, culturally relevant, and trauma-informed responses to domestic violence and other lifetime trauma so that survivors and their children can access the resources that are essential to their safety and well-being. Our work is survivor defined and rooted in principles of social justice.
Administration for Children and Families: Resource Guide to Trauma-Informed Human Services - https://www.acf.hhs.gov/trauma-toolkit
The Administration for Children and Families, the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administrations, the Administration for Community Living, the Offices of the Assistant Secretary for Health and the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation at HHS have worked together to develop this Guide to Trauma-Informed Human Services. The guide is intended to provide an introduction to the topic of trauma, a discussion of why understanding and addressing trauma is important for human services programs, and a “road map” to find relevant resources.
On Campus Resources:
fee-based comprehensive academic support program
offers free resources, opportunities, substance abuse prevention, and health education to Marshall University students. https://www.marshall.edu/wellness/
free counseling services to students to include crisis, walk in, & medication management for those currently in counseling.
provide high quality, low cost psychological services to individuals on the campus and from the local community.
offers free services to students with any documented disability.
offers fee-based services to students with Autism Spectrum Disorders.
offers free services to military, veterans, and dependents.
offers scheduled appointments and walk in sessions for counseling
Community Resources for Counseling Services
https://findtreatment.samhsa.gov/
This provides a locator map for anywhere in the country. You can specify substance use, mental health or both, as well as other potential treatment issues.
OUTPATIENT SERVICES
Area Psychiatric & Psychotherapy Group
10 6th Ave W #300
Huntington, WV 25701
304-525-9355
Goodwill Family Services Counseling
1102 Memorial Blvd W
West Huntington, WV
Tel: 304-523-9454
Hand of Hope
1212 Bath Avenue
Suite 101
Ashland, KY 41101
Main Tel: 606-393-5926
*accepts clients on opioid medication
HER Place
Barnett Community Center
1524 10th Avenue
Huntington, WV 25701
304-525-7394
Huntington Treatment Center
135 4th Avenue
Huntington, WV 25701
Main Tel: 304-525-5691
Intake Tel 1: 304-525-5691-318
Intake Tel 2: 800-525-1449
*methadone maintenance, opioid medication
Ironton/Lawrence Cnty Comm Action Org
Action Org/Family Guidance Center
120 North 3rd Street
Ironton, OH 45638
Main Tel: 740-414-2245
Intake Tel 1: 740-532-7855x1230
Intake Tel 2: 800-404-7855
*accepts clients on opioid medications; treatment for gambling disorder; treatment for internet use disorder
Karens Place
2135 Highway 1185
Louisa, KY 41230
Main Tel: 606-638-0938
*accepts clients on opioid medications
Mended Reeds Mental Health
700 Park Avenue
Ironton, OH 45638
Main Tel: 740-532-1613
*accepts clients on opioid medications
Oasis Behavioral Health Services LLC
689 Central Avenue
Barboursville, WV 25504
Main Tel: 304-733-3331
*accepts clients on opioid medication
Odyssey Inc
125 South Main Cross Street
Louisa, KY 41230
Main Tel: 606-638-0938
*accepts clients on opioid medications
Our Lady of Bellefonte Hospital
Bellefonte Behavioral Health Center
1000 Saint Christopher Drive
Ashland, KY 41101
Main Tel: 606-836-3148
Intake Tel 1: 606-833-3555
*do not treat opioid addiction; use methadone/buprenorphine for pain management and emergency dosing; alcohol detoxification; benzodiazepine detoxification; cocaine detoxification; methamphetamines detoxification; opioids detoxification
Pathways Inc
Boyd County Outpatient
201 22nd Street
Ashland, KY 41101
Main Tel: (606) 324-1141
Intake Tel 2: (800) 562-8909
Pathways Inc
Boyd IOP
2165 Winchester Avenue
Ashland, KY 41102
Main Tel: 606-324-1141
Intake Tel 2: 800-562-8909
*accepts clients on opioid medication
Pathways Inc
Greenup County Outpatient
57 Dora Lane
Greenup, KY 41144
Main Tel: (606) 473-7333
Intake Tel 2: (606) 324-1141
*accepts clients on opioid medication
Prestera Center for MH Services Inc
Addiction Services
3375 U.S. Route 60 East
Huntington, WV 25705
Main Tel: 304-525-7851-1009
Intake Tel 1: 877-399-7776
*treats with medication (Vivitrol, Buprenorphine)
Prestera Center for MH Services Inc
146 Kenova Avenue
Wayne, WV 25570
Main Tel: 304-272-3466x4014
Intake Tel 1: 304-272-3466-4014
*accepts clients on opioid medication
Prestera Center for MH Services Inc
Lincoln County Office
25 Lincoln Plaza
Branchland, WV 25506
Main Tel: 304-824-5790
Intake Tel 2: 800-642-3434
Specialized Alternatives for Families
1701 Central Avenue
Suite 250
Ashland, KY 41101
Main Tel: 606-393-5029
*accepts clients on opioid medication
Transitions Interfaith Counseling Center
701 Main Street
Barboursville, WV 25504
304-451-3195
Ultimate Treatment Center
3655 Winchester Avenue
Ashland, KY 41101
Main Tel: 606-393-4632
*methadone maintenance; uses buprenorphine for opioid addiction
Valley Health
1301 Hal Greer Blvd
Huntington, WV
304-525-0572
Valley Health
3377 Route 60 E
Huntington, WV 25705
304-525-3334
Valley Health-Westmoreland
2908 Auburn Road
Huntington, WV 25704
304-781-5800
Valley Health-Hurricane, WV
3729 Teays Valley Road, Suite 100
Hurricane, WV 25526
304-760-6040
Veterans Affairs Medical Center
Outpatient Treatment Program
1540 Spring Valley Drive
Huntington, WV 25704
Main Tel: 304-429-6741
Intake Tel 1: 800-827-8244 x2692
*treats with medication (Vivitrol, Buprenorphine)
Word House Inc
Focus Consultation Services
401 10th Street
The Saint James Building, Suite 320
Huntington, WV 25701
Main Tel: 304-523-9673
*accepts clients on opioid medication
DETOX; TRANSITIONAL LIVING; INPATIENT HOSPITALIZATION; RESIDENTIAL
Mended Reeds Mental Health
700 Park Avenue
Ironton, OH 45638
Main Tel: 740-532-1613
*accepts clients on opioid medications
Our Lady of Bellefonte Hospital
Bellefonte Behavioral Health Center
1000 Saint Christopher Drive
Ashland, KY 41101
Main Tel: 606-836-3148
Intake Tel 1: 606-833-3555
*do not treat opioid addiction; use methadone/buprenorphine for pain management and emergency dosing; alcohol detoxification; benzodiazepine detoxification; cocaine detoxification; methamphetamines detoxification; opioids detoxification
Oxford House-Cabell (male)
2409 9th Avenue
Huntington, WV 25703
681-204-3638
Oxford House-West Washington (female)
1457 11th Avenue
Huntington, WV 25701
304-523-4684
Pathways Inc
Residential Plus
201 22nd Street
Ashland, KY 41101
Main Tel: 606-324-1141
Intake Tel 1: 606-324-1141-0
Intake Tel 2: 800-562-8909
*accepts clients on opioid medication; alcohol detoxification; benzodiazepine detoxification; cocaine detoxification; methamphetamines detoxification; opioids detoxification
Prestera Center-PARC DETOX
1420 Washington Avenue
Huntington, WV 25704
304-525-1522
Prestera Center for MH Services Inc
Pinecrest/Detox
5600 U.S. Route 60 East
Huntington, WV 25705
Main Tel: 304-525-7851-2545
Intake Tel 1: 304-525-7851
*does not use medication for opioid addiction
Prestera Center for MH Services Inc
Pinecrest Short Term Residential Trt
5600 U.S. Route 60 East
Huntington, WV 25705
Main Tel: 800-642-3434
Intake Tel 1: 304-525-7851x0
Intake Tel 2: 877-399-7776
*does not use medication for opioid addiction
Prestera Center for MH Services Inc
Renaissance/Women and Children Program
5600 U.S. Route 60 East
Huntington, WV 25705
Main Tel: (304) 525-7851
*accepts clients on opioid medication
Prestera Center for MH Services Inc
Transitional Living
432 6th Avenue
Huntington, WV 25701
Main Tel: 304-525-5250
Intake Tel 1: 304-525-7851-0
*accepts clients on opioid medication
Recovery Point of Huntington
2425 9th Avenue
Huntington, WV 25705
Main Tel: 304-523-4673
*does not use medication for opioid addiction; alcohol detoxification; cocaine detoxification; methamphetamines detoxification; opioids detoxification
River Park Hospital
1230 6th Avenue
Huntington, WV 25701
Main Tel: 304-526-9111
Intake Tel 1: 800-992-9101
*accepts clients on opioid medication; alcohol detoxification; benzodiazepine detoxification; opioids detoxification
Crisis Call Center’s 24-hour crisis line often serves as the first point of contact for individuals who are seeking help, support, and information. Crisis can affect anyone at any time. The need for emotional support or referral assistance is something most individuals encounter at some point in their lives. Staff and volunteers are available 24/7/365 to help individuals discover the skills and resources that they uniquely possess that allow them to develop solutions to maximize self-sufficiency.
1-800-950-NAMI (6264) or info@nami.org
The NAMI HelpLine can be reached Monday through Friday, 10 am–6 pm, ET.
We are unable to provide counseling or therapy, cannot provide specific recommendations for things like treatment or do individual casework, legal representations or other individual advocacy. In the event of a crisis call, we will transfer callers in crisis or who express suicidal ideation to a national crisis line to provide further assistance.
Crisis Text Line – Text NAMI to 741-741
National Suicide Prevention Lifeline
1-800-273-8255
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) National Helpline: 1-800-662-HELP (4357)
If you’re ready to seek professional treatment for your mental health condition, SAMHSA’s helpline and web-based behavioral health treatment services locator can help you find information about treatment providers, therapists counselors, support groups, and community resources in your area.
Community, State, and National Resources
WVU Disordered Eating Center of Charleston - https://www.hsc.wvu.edu/decc
DECC is an interprofessional outpatient treatment program that provides services for youth and adults with disordered eating, including clinical eating disorders. Team members include psychologists, social workers, a registered dietician, and physicians specializing in adolescent medicine, psychiatry, and internal medicine. The DECC team meets weekly to discuss the progress of individuals receiving treatment and to review current research on the treatment of disordered eating.
Eating Disorder Hope - https://www.eatingdisorderhope.com/
Eating Disorder Hope™ offers education, support, and inspiration to eating disorder sufferers, their loved ones, and eating disorders treatment providers. Eating Disorder Hope resources include articles on eating disorder treatment options, support groups, recovery tools and more. Whether an individual struggles with bulimia, anorexia, body image distortion, or binge-eating disorders, Eating Disorder Hope™ can help.
The National Eating Disorders Association (NEDA)
National Eating Disorder Week February 25, 2019 - March 3, 2019
The National Eating Disorders Association (NEDA) is the largest nonprofit organization dedicated to supporting individuals and families affected by eating disorders.Eating disorders are widely misunderstood illnesses and support options are often inaccessible. As a result, too many people are left feeling helpless, hopeless, and frightened. Through our programs and services, NEDA raises awareness, builds communities of support and recovery, funds research, and puts life-saving resources into the hands of those in need. https://www.nationaleatingdisorders.org/ Call the hotline at: (800) 931-2237, for crisis situations text: 741741, or use the NEDA chat feature: https://chatserver.comm100.com/ChatWindow.aspx?siteId=144464&planId=467
Find treatment and support groups: https://www.nationaleatingdisorders.org/find-treatment/treatment-and-support-groups
NEDA brochures: https://www.nationaleatingdisorders.org/brochures
On Campus:
Marshall University Police Department (MUPD):304 696-HELP (4375)
Local Police, Fire and Ambulance: 911
Title IX Coordinator/Director of Equity Programs: 304 696-2597
Counseling Center: 304 696-3111
Women’s Center: 304 696-3112
http://www.marshall.edu/wcenter/
Office of Student Conduct: 304 696-2495
Student Advocate and Success Specialist: 304 696-2284
Housing and Residence Life: 304 696-6208
Off Campus:
Huntington Area
CONTACT Rape Crisis Center: 304 399-1111
https://www.contacthuntington.com/
Branches Domestic Violence Shelter: 304 340-3549
Cabell County Prosecuting Attorney Victim Assistance: 304 523-6483
http://www.vwapwv.com/wvcounties/Cabell.html
South Charleston Area
REACH Family Counseling Connections: 304 340-3676
http://www.fris.org/CrisisCenters/Pages-CrisisCenters/Center-REACH.html
YWCA Resolve Family Abuse Program: 304 340-3549
https://www.ywcacharleston.org/domestic-violence-services
Kanawha County Victim Assistance Program: 304 357-0300
http://www.vwapwv.com/wvcounties/Kanawha.html
Teays Valley Area
REACH Family Counseling Connections: 304 340-3676
http://www.fris.org/CrisisCenters/Pages-CrisisCenters/Center-REACH.html
Branches Domestic Violence Shelter: 304 340-3549
Putnam County Prosecuting Attorney Victim Assistance: 304 586-0269
http://www.vwapwv.com/wvcounties/Putnam.html
Point Pleasant Area
CONTACT Rape Crisis Center: 304 399-7273
https://www.contacthuntington.com/
Branches Domestic Violence Shelter: 304 529-2382
Mason County Victim Assistance Program: 304 357-5717
http://www.vwapwv.com/wvcounties/Mason.html
Statewide Resources:
WV Foundation for Rape Information and Services (FRIS): 304 366-9500
WV Coalition Against Domestic Violence: 304 965-3552
State of WV Victim Assistance Programs:
National Resources:
RAINN National Sexual Assault Hotline: 800.656-HOPE (4673)
National Domestic Violence Hotline: 800.799-7233
National Coalition Against Domestic Violence (NCADV):
National Center Victim for Crime Victims: 855-4Vicitm
Stalking Resource Center:
http://victimsofcrime.org/our-programs/stalking-resource-center
Campus Resources
MU Wellness Center - http://www.marshall.edu/wellness/
Offers free resources, opportunities, substance abuse prevention, and health education to Marshall University students
Campus Psychology Clinic - http://www.marshall.edu/psych/clinics/campus-psychology-clinic/
Provides high quality, low-cost psychological services to individuals on the campus and from the local community.
Marshall's Community Behavioral Health Clinic - 304-696-3751
Offers scheduled appointments and walk-in sessions for counseling.
State Resources
Help 4 WV - https://www.help4wv.com/
HELP4WV offers a 24/7 call, chat, and text line that provides immediate help for any West Virginian struggling with an addiction or mental health issue. Many of those answering our accredited helpline are peer-support specialists or recovery coaches. This means that they have personal experience in recovery from a mental health or substance abuse issue. This initiative, funded by the Department of Health and Human Resources, is designed to streamline the process of seeking help for behavioral health issues.
Prestera Center - https://www.prestera.org/services/addictions-recovery/
Prestera’s addictions treatment services is a full continuum of care that includes outpatient services, short and long term residential programs, medically monitored detoxification and transitional living programs which helps provide a safe transition for consumers reentering the community.
Prestera Center offers mental health and addiction recovery services for individuals with co-occurring disorders.
Prestera Center also offers the West Virginia DUI Safety and Treatment Program for the West Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles and can provide assessments and services that meet the state requirements for becoming a licensed driver again.
Huntington Comprehensive Treatment Center - https://www.acadiahealthcare.com/locations/huntington-methadone-clinic
Huntington Comprehensive Treatment Center is located in Huntington, West Virginia. Here, our staff of nurses, physicians, and counselors work together to provide those struggling with opioid abuse the treatment they need. They specifically work to help those addicted to heroin, morphine, and prescription pain pills. Our medication-assisted treatment program offers the implementation of Subutex, Vivitrol, methadone, and Suboxone. Through these medications, a patient’s withdrawal symptoms and cravings can be minimized. Additionally, therapeutic services are offered. These therapies include individual and group therapy.
River Park Hospital - https://riverparkhospital.net/
River Park Hospital is on a mission to improve quality of life for patients through the delivery of individualized treatment that is accessible, compassionate, effective and affordable.
The Lifehouse - http://www.thelifehousewv.com/
The Lifehouse is a long term, faith-based, recovery program, therapeutic community organization located in Huntington, WV. The Lifehouse is a non-profit organization created to help men and women recover from alcoholism and substance abuse. The homes associated with The Lifehouse solely exist to help men and women in West Virginia continue their journeys of sobriety with the adequate support and services to implement the life stability that is required for continual substance abuse recovery.
HER Place - https://www.recoverypointwv.org/locations/her-place/
Our Women's Addictions Recovery Outreach Center -- HER Place in Huntington, WV -- is a place where women, children and families can find a safe and nurturing environment that will offer free access to peer support services and educational programs that will empower recovery from addictions and transformation of lives.
National Resources
Addiction Resources - https://addictionresource.com/addiction-and-rehab-hotlines/
Addiction Resource was founded in 2014 to provide a community for those recovering from addiction and to help patients find the highest quality care for a successful recovery.
Addictions and Recovery - https://www.addictionsandrecovery.org/addiction-recovery-links.htm
This website does not link to commercial sites, rehab programs, addiction referral services, law firms, etc., to better provide independent and unbiased information.
Alcohol Addiction Center - https://alcoholaddictioncenter.org/
Providers of information and resources for anyone struggling with an alcohol problem, either through a friend or family member, or with a problem of their own. We are not a facility. Each situation is unique, and we strive to educate and inform people about alcoholism, or known by its clinical name, alcohol use disorder.
National Drug Helpline - http://drughelpline.org/
The National Drug Helpline provides accessible resources and contact information to anyone who may be in need of substance abuse or mental disorder help. We strive to help as many people as we possibly can to reduce both the stigma and impact of addiction.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) - https://www.samhsa.gov/find-help/national-helpline
SAMHSA’s National Helpline – 1-800-662-HELP (4357)
SAMHSA’s National Helpline is a free, confidential, 24/7, 365-day-a-year treatment referral and information service (in English and Spanish) for individuals and families facing mental and/or substance use disorders.
National Institute on Drug Abuse - https://www.drugabuse.gov/publications/principles-drug-addiction-treatment-research-based-guide-third-edition/resources
The National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) leads the Nation in scientific research on the health aspects of drug abuse and addiction. It supports and conducts research across a broad range of disciplines, including genetics, functional neuroimaging, social neuroscience, prevention, medication, and behavioral therapies, and health services. It then disseminates the results of that research to significantly improve prevention and treatment and to inform policy as it relates to drug abuse and addiction.
American Society of Addiction Medicine - https://www.asam.org/resources/resource-links
ASAM, founded in 1954, is a professional medical society representing over 6,000 physicians, clinicians and associated professionals in the field of addiction medicine. ASAM is dedicated to increasing access and improving the quality of addiction treatment, educating physicians and the public, supporting research and prevention, and promoting the appropriate role of physicians in the care of patients with addiction.
Public Health: Addiction Resources - https://www.publichealth.org/resources/addiction/
With everything from prescription medications to gambling, millions of Americans suffer from addictions. These free online resources will give you the perspective you need to lead the fight against addiction.
National Council on Alcoholism and Drug Dependence - https://www.ncadd.org/
The National Council on Alcoholism and Drug Dependence, Inc. (NCADD) provides education, information, help and hope to the public.