Skip to main content

Marshall Marshall University Libraries

Ask A Librarian HoursLibrary CatalogArticle Databases RESEARCH SERVICESHELPINFORMATION FOR...

Library Displays, Exhibits, and Events: Home

This Research Guide will outline the current and past displays, exhibits, and events featured at Marshall University Libraries, including those from Drinko Library, Special Collections, Government Documents, and the South Charleston Library.

Library News

  •    Join Marshall Libraries for Stress Relief Week - Monday, December 2nd - Friday, December 6th

 

  • ​Monday, December 2nd, 11 a.m. - 3 p.m. - Drinko Lobby - DIY Stress Balls
  • Tuesday, December 3rd, 11 a.m. - 1 p.m. (or until supplies last) - Drinko Lobby - Button Making Station
  • Wednesday, December 4th, 11 a.m. - 12 a.m. - Drinko Lobby - Magic Mural Giant Community Coloring Sheet
  • Thursday, December 5th, 2 p.m. - 3 p.m. - Drinko 1st floor - Library Store Time (with milk and cookies)
  • Friday, December 6th, all day - Drinko Lobby - Check out Lego kits, board games, movies, card games, or calming jars with your MUID

 

Pause for Paws Therapy Dogs will be in Drinko Lobby: Wednesday 12 p.m. - 2 p.m., Thursday 2 p.m. - 3:30 p.m., Friday 12 p.m. - 2 p.m.

 

Enjoy the Appalachian Christmas Garden and take a turn as a conductor on Santa's Express in Morrow Library's Special Collections all week long. 


  •    Reframing Appalachia Artwork Delivery - Submissions for the 2019 MU Libraries Art Exhibition: Reframing Appalachia at Drinko Library on December 2nd and 3rd. In Reframing Appalachia: Images, stories and dreams for the future we hope that artists localize their artwork as much as possible. For this exhibition, we encourage students, faculty, staff and community members to enter works that speak to their lived experiences. This year we are accepting poetry and other short works of writing. Entry forms are available at the Visual Arts Center, the Drinko Library Circulation Desk or https://libguides.marshall.edu/ReframingAppalachia.

  •    ACT Cram Sessions - Marshall professors will offer a math boot camp weekend session before the next ACT and SAT test. Students can: identify strengths and weaknesses, build math skills, practice with challenging games, and practice pacing for one question per minute. Drinko 349 from 1 to 4:30 p.m. Cost is $140 per weekend. Scholarships are available. To sign up, contact Dr. Suzanne Strait, director of West Virginia Science Adventures, at WVScienceAdventures@gmail.com. Learn more at ssawv.com
    • December 7-8
    • February 1-2
    • March 28-29
    • June 6-7


  •   Displays, Exhibits, and Events Research Guide - This Resource Guide provides library users with up-to-date information about the displays, exhibits, and events featured across all libraries serving the Marshall University students, faculty, and staff.

  •     Research Guide in Support of the MU Mental Health Initiative: Don't Call Me Crazy MU Libraries is partnering with the Counseling Services and Women's Center to destigmatize mental wellness challenges so that our students, faculty, and staff are empowered to resiliency through quality information and education. This research guide provides information about our upcoming mental health discussion panels, our upcoming art exhibit, and provides information about campus, community, and national mental health resources.
  •    MU  Libraries has updated their circulation policies. A semester-long check-out period is now available for Undergraduates, Graduates, Honors, Graduate Assistants, and part-time Faculty & Staff. Renewals are not available for these items.

  •    The borrowing period for materials borrowed through EZ-Borrow has been extended to 84 days (12 weeks); however, these items can no longer be renewed. (note: library accounts expire at the end of each semester, so an EZ-Borrow item borrowed later in the semester can only be checked out until this expiration date).

  •    The Drinko Reference Collection has moved to the first floor Learning Commons.
  •    The Music Reference Collection is now located on the third floor with the main Music Collection. 

  •   Nexis Uni replaces the former LexisNexis Academic database which is being retired by Lexis-Nexis. Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources with an intuitive interface, personalization features, and a collaborative work space.

  •   Traveling Scholars - Marshall students, faculty & staff on the road now have access to free library use, and on-site borrowing, when visiting over 40 libraries in Pennsylvania, New Jersey, and West Virginia.


  •    In an effort to make signing into InterLibrary Loan more secure and user friendly, Marshall University Libraries have been changing to a single sign for Interlibrary Loan. All users will have to create a new account. Users will not automatically be able to see any requests that were submitted before Aug 1, 2016. If you would like to see your request history after the transition, please send an email to: libserv@marshall.edu.

  •   The Textbook Loan Program - makes affordable textbooks available in Drinko Library for gateway and core curriculum courses (2 hour loan period).
  •   Clio is your guide to the history around you. Clio enables users to select from a variety of locations with historic value. Apps for Apple/Android too.
  •   Try new WorldCat Discovery.

  •   New Document Delivery Service for Huntington Campus Faculty & Staff! Find out more.

  •   Borrowing Textbooks From Other Libraries - For textbooks not owned by the Marshall University Libraries you may try EZ-Borrow. Unfortunately due to National Interlibrary Loan policies we are unable to order current textbooks through our Interlibrary Loan Department (ILL). Any request submitted through ILL for textbooks will be cancelled.
  •   EndNote is an advanced tool for managing bibliographies, citations, and references. Installation files and support materials are provided. Your Marshall email address is your "username".
  •   University Licensed Software is available to students and to faculty/staff on the IT computer images at Marshall University.
  •   Instructions are provided here (PDF) for accessing The Chronicle of Higher Education. The Chronicle is a major news service for United States academic affairs, and has been a finalist and winner of many journalism awards.
  •  Single Sign-On - Everyone may now access library services, MU Online, and much more, by signing on to myMU using their MUNET username and password. Take a look at Off-Campus Services for other off campus library services.
  •   Reserve a room in Drinko Library and have a quiet place for group meetings or studying.  Small (2 individuals), medium (3-4 individuals) and large (5-10 individuals) rooms are available. Music listening equipment is located on the third floor.

Libraries as Space

 

Libraries hold a unique position as places to hold civil conversations on challenging subjects as well as purveyors of credible information in which to frame those conversations. MU Libraries actively advocates and educates in defense of intellectual freedom—the rights of library users to read, seek information, and speak freely as guaranteed by the First Amendment.  

This Resource Guide will provide library users with up-to-date information about the displays, exhibits, and events featured across all libraries serving the Marshall University students, faculty, and staff.


This Month in the Library - December 2019

 

Library Exhibits and Events

 

Stress Relief Week at MU Libraries -

  • ​​​Monday, December 2nd, 11 a.m. - 3 p.m. - Drinko Lobby - DIY Stress Balls
  • Tuesday, December 3rd, 11 a.m. - 1 p.m. (or until supplies last) - Drinko Lobby - Button Making Station
  • Wednesday, December 4th, 11 a.m. - 12 a.m. - Drinko Lobby - Magic Mural Giant Community Coloring Sheet
  • Thursday, December 5th, 2 p.m. - 3 p.m. - Drinko 1st floor - Library Store Time (with milk and cookies)
  • Friday, December 6th, all day - Drinko Lobby - Check out Lego kits, board games, movies, card games, or calming jars with your MUID

Enjoy the Appalachian Christmas Garden and take a turn as a conductor on Santa's Express in Morrow Library's Special Collections all week long. 

 

Reframing Appalachia Artwork Delivery - December 2nd and 3rd

 

ACT Cram Sessions - December 7th and 8th

 

Looking at Appalachia Exhibit - First three floors of Drinko Library, through December 15, 2019

 

Nelson S. Bond Collection - Morrow Library, Special Collections Reading Room

 

The Matthew Reese Donkey Collection - Morrow Library, Special Collections Reading Room

 

Victor Animatograph Lantern Slides - Special Collections Virtual Exhibit

 

Historic Huntington Businesses: The Birth of Huntington, W. Va. 1871-1900 - Special Collections Virtual Exhibit

 

Irvin Dugan: Cartoonist - Special Collections Virtual Exhibit

Sabrina Thomas, Research and Instruction Librarian for Marshall Libraries, delivered the keynote address at the Cabell County Public Library in-service day on October 8th. Her topic was the role of the library in the information age.

Banned Books Week Display - September 23 - 29, 2018

Fallout 76 Display - Special Collections

HerdCon Display - Drinko 3rd floor

Drinko Library 20th Birthday

New Books Spotlight

We are continually updating our general collections. Follow the link below to view new titles in our library.

 

Chat

Chat, Text, and Research Desk Fall Hours:
Mon-Fri: 10am - 5pm

Student Success Librarian

Kacy Lovelace's picture
Kacy Lovelace
Contact:
Marshall University
1 John Marshall Drive
Huntington, WV 25755
Drinko Library 232
304-696-6226