Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reliable References Sources from the Library
Gale Encyclopedia of Diets (2019) by "Presents information on diet and nutrition, including special diets, popular diets, dietary concerns, nutrition basics, and health-related concerns. Topics are organized around the development and history of a diet, its basic principles, any key figures that influenced the practice, and any public and regulatory concerns associated with the diet"--
Publication Date: 2019-01-01
Oxford Handbook of Nutrition and Dietetics by The importance of nutrition in the prevention and treatment of disease and the maintenance of good health is being increasingly recognised. Nutrition is an area that all health professionals need to be aware of and yet one in which few are specifically trained. Nutrition is also becoming avalued topic in many curricula. It is a vast subject and textbooks are by necessity large and can stay stuck on the bookshelf. The Oxford Handbook of Nutrition and Dietetics makes this information more accessible to dietitians, doctors, nurses, nutritionists and other healthcare professionals byproviding a practical, easily accessible, concise and up to date evidence-based guide in a user-friendly portable handbook. The health professional who encounters nutritional problems will find the necessary information in this book on either how to respond to patient queries, or when to refer to amore specialised practitioner.The handbook covers the entire life cycle from preconception to old age and is arranged in 36 chapters which include nutrition assessment, food labelling, functional foods and food supplements, non-nutrient components of food, drug-nutrient interactions and prescription of nutritional products,nutrition in systems-based diseases, nutrition in special groups, such as the very young and older people, and popular diets. Links between chapters are clear and easy to follow. For example a clinician looking for advice on obesity will find practical information on classification and treatment,including an easy to use calculator for BMI (body mass index), with background information on energy in the diet and management in population groups such as children. Topical areas, such as metabolic syndrome, and rarer conditions, such as dietary management of phenylketonuria are also covered.Lists of foods rich in certain nutrients are included as quick reference guides to be used by busy practitioners. The contents reflect the changing structure of the NHS, hence, equal emphasis is given to nutritional science, therapeutic dietetics, and nutrition and dietetics in the communityincluding developing nutrition prevention programmes.This holistic approach is innovative and recognises the demand by health care professionals for nutritional and dietetic information to be able to carry out their evolving roles effectively. As the general public is increasingly aware of the food they eat and the role nutrition plays in health anddisease, it is essential that health professionals have the kind of knowledge in this book at their fingertips.
Publication Date: 2006-11-23
Nutrition in the Prevention and Treatment of Disease by As we enter the 21st century, a new era of nutrition in the prevention and treatment of disease emerges. Clinical nutrition involves the integration of diet, genetics, environment, and behavior promoting health and well being throughout life. Expertly edited, Nutrition in the Prevention and Treatment of Disease provides overall perspective and current scientifically supported evidence through in-depth reviews, key citations, discussions, limitations, and interpretations of research findings. This comprehensive reference integrates basic principles and concepts across disciplines and areas of research and practice, while detailing how to apply this knowledge in new creative ways. Nutrition in the Prevention and Treatment of Disease is an essential part of the tool chest for clinical nutritionists, physicians, nurse practitioners, and dieticians in this new era of practice. This book prepares the clinical nutrition investigator or practitioner for a life-long commitment to learning. CONTAINS INFORMATION ON: * Diet assessment methodologies * Strategies for diet modification * Clinical status of herbals, botanicals, and modified food products * Preventing common diseases such as cardiovascular disease, diabetes, osteoporosis, and breast cancer through nutrition * The Importance of genetic factors * Understanding of cultural and socio-economic influences on eating and exercise behaviors and integrating that knowledge with biological or functional markers of disease
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health by "Aims to educate people about allied health and nursing, whether pursuing a degree in an allied health field or already working as a nurse or allied health professional. Individuals traversing the healthcare system due to their own medical needs or that of a loved one can find medical information they need in order to make informed health decisions"--
Publication Date: 2017-12-15
The Gale Encyclopedia of Diets (2013) by The Gale Encyclopedia of Diets 2-vol. set presents authoritative, comprehensive information on special diets, popular diets, dietary concerns, nutrition basics, and effects of dietary choices on health. All entries are presented in a standardized and balanced format. Topics are organized around the development and history of a diet, its basic principles, any key figures that influenced the practice, and any public and regulatory concerns associated with the diet. Articles provide information across all age groups, from infants to the elderly, without the intention of endorsement of any one diet. Such subjects as the South Beach Diet, The Zone, nutrition literacy, diabetes, and obesity are covered.
Publication Date: 2013-05-07
Reliable Sources from the US Government
Oregon State University's Micronutrient Information Center