Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian HoursLibrary CatalogArticle Databases RESEARCH SERVICESHELPINFORMATION FOR...

Using Marshall University Archives and Special Collections: Other Archives

This guide provides an introduction to conducting research and using materials at Marshall University Archives and Special Collections.

Other Archives

Curious about what other primary source resources and archives exist outside of Marshall? Below is a non-comprehensive list of other archives that collect material about West Virginia.

West Virginia Archives

West Virginia State Archives (Charleston, WV) - The West Virginia State Archives collects materials related to the history of West Virginia. Collections include state government records; diaries, correspondence, and other manuscript materials of private citizens and organizations;  photographs, negatives, and slides; special collections, audio-visual materials, and maps; and books, pamphlets, and microfilm.

West Virginia and Regional History Center (WVRHC) (Morgantown, WV) - The WVRHC collects personal papers, photos, pamphlets, business records, digital content, books, microfilm, audio recordings, and other materials related to the history of West Virginia and the Appalachian region.

National Archives

Library of Congress - The de facto national library of the United States, the Library of Congress contains millions of books, recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts covering the history of the United States in its collections. Many collections are available online, along with significant resources for teaching and learning about all aspects of American history.

National Archives - The National Archives preserves and makes accessible records created by the United States government. In their collections are materials of all formats related to government, with a large number of materials available online. 

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) - DPLA hosts more than 36 million digitized primary sources from libraries and archives across the United States, as well as primary source sets and other learning resources.