Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Food Museum
The FOOD Museum On-Line, Tom Hughes and Meredith Sayles Hughes are dedicated to discovering, exploring and promoting the world's foods, their histories, and relevance today. High on their list: the establishment of a national museum dedicated to food, possibly on the Mall in Washington, DC.
The History of Eating Utensils - California Academy of Sciences
A large portion of this collection consists of eating utensils, including tableware and portable eating sets. The variety of forms displayed by many items in the Rietz Collection document the history and evolution of such common utensils as forks, knives, spoons, and chopsticks. To see items from the Rietz Collection and to learn about the history of common eating utensils, please click on one of the links below.
The Rietz Collection of Food Technology
The Rietz Collection of Food Technology is one of the few, perhaps the only, cross-cultural collections of culinary objects assembled to document historic technologies of cooking and eating. Collected by Industrialist Carl Austin Rietz during the mid-20th century, and acquired by the Department of Anthropology at the California Academy of Sciences in the 1970s, the collection documents the cultural development of technologies associated with preparing and eating food among numerous cultures and time periods.
Culinaria Issues is a monograph series published by National Food & Beverage Foundation in partnership with Tulane University Law School. The series is designed to quickly publish peer- reviewed articles and other important articles about the law, policy and cultural issues that involve food and drink.
Culinary Historians of New York
Culinary Historians of New York is a community of scholars, passionate culinarians, and intellectually curious folks. We explore the fascinating history of food, drink, and cuisine through public programs and support for scholarship.
The Food Timeline
Was created and maintained solely by Lynne Olver reference librarian with a passion for food history. About it she originally said " Information is checked against standard reference tools for accuracy. All sources are cited for research purposes. As with most historical topics, there are some conflicting stories in the field of food history.
Library of Congress, Food History Bibliography
The intent is to assist researchers in identifying resources and trends in food history studies, through a broad sampling of writings and bibliographies. Rather than being a comprehensive listing, the titles listed here are intended to give an idea of the breadth of information available.