Personal Finance: Library Resources

In difficult times, debt can be a matter of life and death, happiness and despair. Controlling your debt can bring order and calm. Mastering debt can bring wealth and success. As bestselling Rich Dad/Poor Dad author Robert Kiyosaki says, "Good debt makes you rich and bad debt makes you poor.” The ABCs of Getting Out of Debt provides the necessary knowledge to navigate through a very challenging credit environment.

Anyone suffering under the crushing weight of debt knows how impossible it can seem to find a way out. It's overwhelming-and the more complicated the proposed solution, the harder it is to stick with it. That's why The Debt-Free Spending Plan is SIMPLE. It doesn't require sifting through chapters of high-minded financial advice or digging up your past spend ing history. It assumes you need help RIGHT NOW, and gives it to you.

From depleted retirement accounts to underwater homes, it's been gloomy news for years. But the picture will get much brighter for those who take advantage of the laws and reforms enacted in the wake of the banking, real estate, and economic meltdown. Now, everyday people can learn what the new rules really mean to them with the expert guidance and practical solutions in Financial Fresh Start. "

Addressing the common reasons people don't discuss personal finances in detail and in-depth with their partner, this unique approach to managing money goes beyond the superficial to the substantial and significant conversations couples should have about money. In part one, personal profiles of 19 women reflect the financial and emotional challenges every woman, to some degree, eventually faces when the relationships she has with herself, her money, and her mate converge. The second section reviews key individual thoughts, behavior, and expectations concerning money and examines how these affect the expectations of a significant other. The love-and-money dance is the focus of the third part, providing a framework for asking questions and exchanging information that allow any couple to know and understand each other's personal financial history. Assessing and improving the emotional impact of managing money in a romantic relationship, this guidebook elevates the conversation about money and provides women with the tools to take the lead.

Combining practical content with visual appeal, the 21st Century Lifeskills handbooks read more like a magazine than a book. Highly readable with full-color photographs, a smaller trim size and an eye-popping layout, these 120-page handbooks are great for teaching life skills to a twenty-first century population. The 10 handbooks in this series will provide readers a thorough and non-threatening introduction to the multi-dimensional competencies, concepts, and vocabulary they need to achieve independences--including community resources, job searching, money management, job etiquette, health, moving and more. Used along or in conjunction with the 21st Century Lifeskills worktexts, these handbooks offer students a unique and visual way to achieve real-world literacy. The handbook is a thorough and non-threatening introduction to: The Wise Buyer; Shopping for Goods; Shopping for Services; Consumer Rights. This handbook offers students a unique and visual way to achieve real-world literacy.

As members of the baby boom generation head into retirement, they face an economic environment that has changed noticeably since their parents retired. Most of these new retirees will not be equipped, as many in the earlier generation were, with private pension plans, early retirement options, and fully paid retiree health benefits in addition to Social Security and Medicare. Today it is increasingly left to retirees themselves to plan how to maximize retirement income and minimize risk. In Retirement Income, Mark Warshawsky and his colleagues describe strategies, products, and public policies that will help a new generation achieve financial security and income growth in retirement.