Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Library Resources for Evidence-Based Research
AccessPharmacy from McGraw-Hill gives pharmacy students instant access to videos, games, Q&A, and leading pharmacy textbooks that will establish an important foundation for learning; enables pharmacy instructors to create, track, and report their students’ progress through a custom curriculum that eases workflow; and allows practicing pharmacists to get information instantly about drugs, herbs and supplements, and consult features and editorials concerning the vast array of current pharmacy publications.
CINAHL Complete provides broad content coverage including over 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more. With CINAHL Complete users get fast and easy access to top nursing and allied health journals, evidence-based care sheets and quick lessons.
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals
Nursing & Allied Health
This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
This database is published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in PsycINFO are peer-reviewed. Coverage: 1806 - current
American Speech-Language-Hearing Association & Evidence Based Practice
ASHA: Framing the Clinical Question
This valuable resource will guide you, from developing your research question to developing search strategies and locating the research that is most relevant.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
The National Guideline Clearinghouse or NGC is a project from the Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality which is under the jurisdiction of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services. Here are some highlights & features:
- It offers extensive information on evidence-based clinical guidelines
- Videos are available and these provide training about effective searches and personalizing and saving results
- Searches can be done with natural language or MeSH terms
- Results are succinct and well organized and can be downloaded is different formats
- Results can be easily compared
- Guideline syntheses allow analysis of guidelines on similar topics
- Guideline matrix allows very focused searching
Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine
The Centre for Evidence Based Medicine or CEBM is based at University of Oxford. Some of the resources include:
- An archive of presentations on evidence-based medicine
- You-tube videos that demonstrate research strategies
- Instructions for effective searches
- Information about projects that are based on evidence-based medicine