Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference Collection - Provides background sources with some critical assessments
- International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers: Directors
Ref. PN1997.8 I58 1990 [Drinko Library - Reference Collection]
Alphabetically arranged, this book gives for each director brief biographical details, a filmography, list of publications, a list of critical articles about the director, and a brief critical assessment. Over 450 directors (American and International) are included.
- World Film Directors
Ref. PN1998.2 .W67 1987 [Drinko Library - Reference Collection]
A 2-volume work that profiles over 400 directors of all nationalities from the early 20th century through the 1980s. Alphabetically arranged. Each profile has biographical information, some critical assessment, a filmography, and a list of books and articles about the director.
- St. James Film Directors Encyclopedia
Ref. PN1998.2 .S68 1998 [Drinko Library - Reference Collection]
A-Z arrangement of short (2-page) articles on directors. Articles include a photo, biographical information, list of films, and an essay discussing director's style and themes. International in scope.
- Contemporary North American film directors : a Wallflower critical guide
Ref. PN1998.2 .C68 2002 [Drinko Library - Reference Collection]
Brief biographical sketch, with listing of films and critical essay that discusses themes, style and other characteristics. Included are directors who make films in the North American (i.e., American and Canadian) film industry.
- Magill's Survey of Cinema: English Language Films. First & Second Series
Ref. PN1995 .M3 1981 [Drinko Library - Reference Collection]
Over 1200 films from the 1920s through 1980 are included in this multivolume set. An essay on each film provides an overview of the plot and critical reception. Cast list included. Good as a background source.
- The Directors : In Their Own Words
PN1998.2 .E49 1999 vol.1 & 2 [Drinko Library - 3rd Floor Stacks]
A two volume set that features interviews with 26 American directors, conducted for a TV series, "The Directors," on the Encore cable channel. Each article features a photo, some biographical information, a filmography, a listing of awards, and the interview. Within each interview there are general comments on filmmaking as well as observations about individual movies.
- Great Film Directors: A Critical Anthology (1978)
PN1998 .A2 G74 [Drinko Library - 3rd Floor Stacks]
An edited collection of essays on several directors, such as John Ford, Hitchcock, Capra, Welles.
- American Film Directors
PN1995.9 .P7 H57 [Drinko Library - 3rd Floor Stacks]
Arranged by director's name, this book contains excerpts from critical essays. Full bibliographic information is provided so that the entire article or essay can be located. Directors such as Capra, Cassavetes, Curtiz, Frankenheimer, Kramer, Nicholls, Penn, and others are included.
- Interviews with Film Directors (1967)
PN1995.9 .P7 S2 [Drinko Library - 3rd Floor Stacks]
As the title suggests, this book contains interviews with 40 famous directors, both American and International.
- Hollywood Voices: Interviews with Film Directors PN1998 .A2 S2 1972 [Drinko Library - 3rd Floor Stacks]
Also a collection of interviews, with directors Cukor, Mamoulian, Preminger, Sturges, Huston, Losey and Ray, Polanski, and Welles.