Religious Studies: Christianity

To find books and materials in the Marshall University Libraries on Christianity, click on the library catalog, and select the Subject tab. Enter any of the following terms to find materials on Christianity:

• Christianity (also various subject headings beginning with Christianity such as Christianity and Geography)
• Christian (various subject headings beginning with Christian such as Christian Literature)
• Church (various subject headings beginning with Church such as Church History)
• Catholic Church (or other named denominations such as Coptic or Russian Orthodox)

In addition, the Keyword Search option can be used.

To browse in the stacks, use:

• BR1-BR1725 - Christianity
• BS1-BS2970 - Bible
• Bx200-BX756 - Orthodox Eastern Church
• BX800-BX4795 - Catholic Church
• BX5011-5207 - Church of England
• BX6201-BX6495 - Baptist Churches
• BX8001-BX8080 - Lutheran Church
• BX8601-BX8695 - Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints

The Reference Collection, located on the first floor of Drinko Library, contains many print resources that provide useful background information:

• The Brethren Encyclopedia - Ref. BX7821.2.B74 1983
• The Catholic Encyclopedia - online version of 1908 edition.
• Dictionary of Early Christian Literature - Ref. BR66.5.L4813 2000
• Encyclopedia of Mormonism (5 vols.) - Ref. BX8605.5.E62 1992
• Encyclopedia of the Early Church (2 vols.) - Ref. BR66.5.D5813 1992
• Historical Dictionary of the Orthodox Church - Ref. BX230.P76 1996
• Lutheran Cyclopedia - Ref. BX8007.L8 1975
• The Modern Catholic Encyclopedia - Ref. BX841.M63 1994
• The New Dictionary of Sacramental Worship - Ref. BV173.N485 1990
• The New Schaff-Herzog Encyclopedia of Religious Knowledge (13 vols.) - Ref. BR95.S435
• World Christian Encyclopedia - Ref. BR95.W67 1982

Some useful online resources for this topic are:

• Bible Gateway - searchable Bibles in multiple languages.
• Christian Classics Ethereal Library - public domain copies of Christian texts.
• Early Christian Writings
• The New Testament Gateway
• Religion-Online - access to full-text material