Reference - Art 113: Art Education - Elementary - LibGuides at Marshall University

Reference Sources

When you start to plan research it is always a good idea to begin with reference sources. This will give you a broad overview of a topic and may help you to either narrow broad topics or broaden narrow topics. In the past, we've encouraged students to use encyclopedias. Today many encyclopedias and other reference sources are availabe in online format.

Reference Sources

Gale eBooks (GVRL) This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks (formerly known as Gale Virtual Reference Library) is a collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources with coverage in major subject areas.

Scholastic Go!
Online encyclopedia that will appeal to young and middle school students. Includes information for teachers including curriculum standards and some suggested lessons. Provided by the WV Library Commission as part of WV Info Depot.

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Now offering more than 800 highly regarded reference titles from over 80 publishers, Credo Reference covers every major subject and also provides Topic Pages as a starting point for researchers.

Art 113: Art Education - Elementary: Reference

Reference Sources

Reference Sources