The online and print databases and indexes listed below will provide references to articles (or in some cases full-text articles) in a wide range of periodicals, from news magazines and newspapers to scholarly and professional journals. If you have questions about choosing or using a database or index, please consult a librarian.
Full-Text Databases
- Academic Search Complete - EBSCOhost
The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Hint: Academic Search Complete is a good first step to begin searching for articles. Remember, articles that can't be printed as full-text or image may be available elsewhere in the libraries.
Peer Reviewed Articles can be found by clicking on the "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" checkbox. Peer reviewed means the article has been judged by experts in the field as worthy of publication.
- ERIC - EBSCOhost, ProQuest , U.S. Dept. of Education
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center database, contains indexing and abstracts from hundreds of education and education-related journals and from thousands of educational research and technical reports. Selected full text articles are available for thousands of ERIC digest records. Microfiche collection in Drinko and MUGC libraries. Coverage: 1966 to present
Peer Reviewed Articles can be found by doing an Advanced search. Go to "Publication Type" and select "Reports - Research/Technical" (this is not available in CSA).
- Communication & Mass Media Complete - EBSCOhost
Extensive coverage of core journals in communication and mass media studies, related journals and reviews, as well as encyclopedias and handbooks.
- CINAHL - EBSCOhost
The authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers which provides indexing for 2,857 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health.
- Nexis Uni - Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni™ replaces the former LexisNexis Academic database which is being retired by Lexis-Nexis. Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative work space with shared folders and annotated documents.
- ERIC Documents - U.S. Dept. of Education
Full text of some ERIC Documents Coverage: 1966 to present
- MEDLINE - EBSCOhost, ProQuest , PubMed
Comprehensive MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy and explosion capabilities to search abstracts from over 4,600 current biomedical journals, citations from Index Medicus, the International Nursing Index, and the Index to Dental Literature. EBSCOHOST version provides some linked full-text articles.
- Military & Government Collection - EBSCOhost
Offers current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
- PsycARTICLES - EBSCOhost
Covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. Coverage: 1985 to present
- Mental Measurements Yearbook - EBSCOhost
Contains full text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks. Coverage: varies
- Dissertations & Theses - ProQuest
Indexing and summaries of over 2.3 million doctoral dissertations and masters theses from over 1,000 graduate schools. Selected dissertations added after 1996 are available as free full-text downloads in PDF format.
Indexes & Bibliographic Databases
These databases and print indexes will provide citation information (author, article title, periodical name, volume & issue, date) for articles, essays, book chapters, dissertations, and other materials, which may be found in the MU Libraries by searching the MILES online catalog (books), Journals Search (periodical holdings) or ordered from another library using the Information Delivery Services (IDS) if the items are not owned by MU Libraries.
- PsycINFO - EBSCOhost
Contains over two million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, all in the field of psychology. Coverage: Coverage from the 1800's
See also the Databases page for all databases.
