Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian HoursLibrary CatalogArticle Databases RESEARCH SERVICESHELPINFORMATION FOR...

Philosophy Research Guide: Journals & Magazines

This online guide is developed specifically for those doing research in Philosophy. It provides a recommended list of resources, which encompasses print materials, electronic databases, and selected Internet resources.

Journal & Magazine Articles

The online and print databases and indexes listed below will provide references to articles (or in some cases full-text articles) in a wide range of periodicals, from news magazines and newspapers to scholarly and professional journals. If you have questions about choosing or using a database or index, please consult a Librarian

Indexes & Databases

These databases and print indexes will provide citation information (author, article title, periodical name, volume & issue, date) for articles, essays, book chapters, dissertations, and other materials. To find which of these items may be found in the MU Libraries, search Journals Search or the library catalog. Items not available through Marshall Libraries may be ordered from another library using the Information Delivery Services (IDS).

  • Academic Search Premier - EBSCOhost
    The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
  • Humanities Index - Ref. AI3.H85
  • Philosopher's Index - Ref. Z7127.P47