LibGuides: Kinesiology: Reference

Online Reference Sources

These online databases are recommended because they can provide basic and background information. Content is drawn from credible sources.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Now offering more than 800 highly regarded reference titles from over 80 publishers, Credo Reference covers every major subject and also provides Topic Pages as a starting point for researchers.
Gale eBooks (GVRL) This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks (formerly known as Gale Virtual Reference Library) is a collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources with coverage in major subject areas.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.

Recommended Titles

Gale Encyclopedia of Fitness by Gale
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781414490168
Publication Date: 2012-03-16
Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health by Jacqueline Longe (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781414498881
Publication Date: 2013-06-14
"In the fully updated third edition of this award-winning title, more than 1,000 alphabetically arranged entries, of which about 100 are new, cover topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. The Encyclopedia covers all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, respiratory therapy and more. "
Oxford American Handbook of Sports Medicine by Jeffrey Bytomski; Claude T. Moorman; Domhnall MacAuley
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780195372199
Publication Date: 2010-04-02
Written by leading American practitioners, the Oxford American Handbooks of Medicine each offer a pocket-sized overview of an entire specialty, featuring instant access to guidance on the conditions that are most likely to be encountered. Precise and pres
Primary Care for Sports and Fitness by Brian J. Toy; Phyllis F. Healy; Brian Toy
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780803614925
Publication Date: 2009-03-19
Master the what-tos, when-tos, and how-tos of sports medicine! Here are the practical knowledge and the clinical skills you need to help your patients prevent common sports-related injuries...and to assess, diagnose, and treat them when they occur. -The p
Musculoskeletal, Sports, and Occupational Medicine by William Micheo
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781933864495
Publication Date: 2010-11-01
Part of the Rehabilitation Medicine Quick Reference series geared for busy clinicians, this book focuses on musculoskeletal, sports, and occupational medicine.