LibGuides: Center for Healthy Aging Initiatives in Appalachia: Books on Aging

Marshall University Libraries

1

by
Tsuji, Yohko

Global perspectives on aging, 2021

"In Through Japanese Eyes, based on her thirty-year research at a senior center in upstate New York, anthropologist Yohko Tsuji describes old age in America...

eBook Full Text Online

BookCheck Availability, HQ1064.U5T78 2020eb, Online Resources
2

by

National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine; Sciences, Division on Engineering and Physical; Applications, Board on Mathematical Sciences and Their ; More...

2015

The U.S. population is aging. Social Security projections suggest that between 2013 and 2050, the population aged 65 and over will almost double, from 45...

eBook Full Text Online
3

by

Schulz, Richard; Eden, Jill

edited by Richard Schulz; Jill Eden

2016

"Family caregiving affects millions of Americans every day, in all walks of life. At least 17.7 million individuals in the United States are caregivers of an...

eBook Full Text Online
4

by Alper, Joe

edited by Joe Alper

2018

"Adults age 65 and older make up the fastest-growing segment of the U.S. population. At the same time, the complexity of health care delivery continues to...

eBook Full Text Online

BookCheck Availability, RA773.74, Online Resources
5

by Rodgers, Anne Brown; Oria, Maria

edited by Maria Oria; Anne Brown Rodgers

2016

Older adults are a growing demographic group in the United States, and a range of physical, social, financial, and cultural factors affect their nutritional...

eBook Full Text Online

Open Access
6

by

Taylor, Rachel M

edited by

Rachel M. Taylor

2014

Elder Abuse and Its Prevention is the summary of a workshop convened in April 2013 by the Institute of Medicine's Forum on Global Violence Prevention. Using an...

eBook Full Text Online

Open Access
7

by

Lustig, Tracy A; Olson, Steve

edited by Tracy A. Lustig; Steve Olson

2014

"Financing Long-Term Services and Supports for Individuals with Disabilities and Older Adults is the summary of a workshop convened in June 2013 by the Forum...

eBook Full Text Online
For additional titles, search Marshall Libraries' catalog at

Start Your Research Here

Summon Advanced

(Click the link to search this remarkable and free online resource.)

Now showing items 1-10 of 4653

Aging and Age-related Disorders: From Molecular Mechanisms to Therapies

Titorenko, Vladimir (2019)

Aging of unicellular and multicellular eukaryotic organisms is a convoluted biological phenomenon, which is manifested as an age-related functional decline caused by progressive dysregulation of certain cellular and organismal processes. Many...

Mitochondrial Dysfunction in Aging and Diseases of Aging

Haas, Richard H. (2019)

This collection of review articles authored by international experts pulls together current information about the role of mitochondria in aging and diseases of aging. Mitochondria are vitally important cellular organelles and undergo their own aging...

Ageing as a Social Challenge

Łuszczyńska, Maria (2021)

With a focus on the case of Poland, where an aging population poses a crucial challenge for the state’s social, family, and gerontological policy, this book explores ageing as a personal and social phenomenon, considering the ways in which...

Physiology and Pathophysiology of Musculoskeletal Aging

Ali Mobasheri; Alexandrina Ferreira Mendes (2015)

We live in a world with an ever-increasing aging population. This aging population is predicted to place a huge financial burden on healthcare systems around the world. Understanding healthy ageing is a key research priority, along with a better...

Ageing as a Unique Experience: Interdisciplinary Approaches to Ageing and Later Life from Social and Humanities Perspectives

Stončikaitė, Ieva; Vidovićová, Lucie (2023)

Ageing is a diverse and multifaceted experience that is unique to each person. The process of ageing is lived differently according to each individual’s socio-cultural, historical, religious, and political context, among other factors. However...

Cognitive and Brain Aging: Interventions to Promote Well-Being in Old Age. Roadmap for Interventions Preventing Cognitive Aging

Greenwood, Pamela M.; Baldwin, Carryl L.; Espeseth, Thomas; Campbell Thompson, James; Jiang, Xiong; Foster, Philip P. (2020)

The field of cognitive aging has evolved from a focus on cataloging age-related declines of brain and mind in healthy older people to a focus on interventions aimed at limiting those declines. Intervention research has obtained convincing evidence...

Ageing in Place in Urban Environments

Buffel, Tine; Phillipson, Chris (2024)

Ageing in Place in Urban Environments considers together two major trends influencing economic and social life: population ageing on the one side and urbanisation on the other. Both have been identified as dominant demographic trends of the twenty...

Feature Papers "Age-Friendly Cities & Communities: State of the Art and Future Perspectives"

van Hoof, Joost; Marston, Hannah R. (2021)

The "Age-Friendly Cities & Communities: States of the Art and Future Perspectives" publication presents contemporary, innovative, and insightful narratives, debates, and frameworks based on an international collection of papers from scholars...

Revolution or Renaissance : Making the Transition from an Economic Age to a Cultural Age

D. Paul Schafer (2008)

In "Revolution or Renaissance," D. Paul Schafer subjects two of the most powerful forces in the world - economics and culture - to a detailed and historically sensitive analysis. He argues that the economic age has produced a great deal of wealth...

Ageing and Nutrition through Lifespan

Tyrovolas, Stefanos (2020)

Population is ageing at an unprecedented speed globally. As concept, ageing is considered a continuous process starting from birth and is accompanied by various physiological changes and a number of chronic diseases that affect health and quality...

Search the Cabell County Public Library Catalog