LibGuides: PSC 412: Library Databases

Political Science

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals. (NOTE: Replaces Academic Search Premier)
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window CQ Researcher is often the first source that librarians recommend when researchers are seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window HeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,500 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase. This Government, Politics & Law HeinOnline’s database package includes, among other things, special collections on Air & Space Law, Criminal Justice, History, Foreign Relations, Religion and the Law, and Women and the Law.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

News & Stats

Newswires This link opens in a new window EBSCO's Newswires provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, Xinhua, CNN Wire, and Business Wire on a continuous basis. This content is monitored by EBSCO and relevant results are provided when users enter searches in EBSCOhost. This collection includes AP Financial News, AP Top News, AP WorldStream, AP U.S. Politics & Government, AP 50 State Reports, UPI Security Industry, UPI Emerging Threats, UPI Business, UPI Entertainment, UPI Sports, UPI Top News, Arabia 2000, and more. End users can immediately access the full text of the web content, by following the link in the record. The index to the full text content in EBSCO Newswires is held for a rolling 30-day archive by EBSCO, so users can enjoy the previous 30 days of news relating to their search interests.
Statista This link opens in a new window Statista is a statistical database that draws more that 1 million statistics from over 18,000 sources. Dossiers, reports, and infographics are included. Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.
TOPICsearch This link opens in a new window TOPICsearch contains full text for over 150,961 articles from 475 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, EBSCO's unparalleled collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.

View all of our news databases, including for specific regions/countries

eBooks

eBook History Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window This collection features history titles across a variety of subjects, including Medieval History, History of Music, History of Science, History of the World, History of the Caribbean & West Indies, History of the Holocaust, Law in History, History of Philosophy, History of Africa, Art History, History of Technology & Engineering, History of Business & Economics, History of the Middle East, History of Latin America, History of Canada, History of Asia, History of Religion, History of Europe, History of the Military and History of the United States.
eBooks on EBSCO This link opens in a new window Our EBSCO e-book collection in partnership with PALCI consortium consists of more than 200,000 items from Academic, Business, Community College, Engineering, History, Medical, Public Library, Religion, and University Press collections available on EBSCO's dedicated E-book Collection interface. These collections are also searchable as part of the regular EBSCOhost databases platform. Access is easy and most e-books can be downloaded to portable devices. For more information see: EBSCO eBooks.
eBook University Press Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Offers researchers thousands of multidisciplinary e-books from more than 90 of the best university presses from around the world. Covering a variety of subjects, this e-book collection offers titles that range from basic introductory texts to high-level research materials.
MasterFILE Reference eBook Collection This link opens in a new window This ebook reference collection offers a rich selection of eBook titles covering a broad range of general reference subjects. Topics include biography, history, careers, cooking, literature, genealogy, health, parenting, personal finance, politics, architecture, science, current events, social-emotional health, sports, and travel.
ProQuest Ebook Central™ This link opens in a new window Credible content from authoritative, scholarly sources. Ebook Central delivers, with breadth and depth of ebooks from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers. Our Ebrary Business & Economics - Legacy Collection now resides on this platform. How to access e-books.
Credible content from authoritative, scholarly sources. Ebook Central delivers, with breadth and depth of ebooks from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers. Our Ebrary Business & Economics - Legacy Collection now resides on this platform.
Taylor & Francis eBooks (Open Access) This link opens in a new window Open access books and book chapters published by Taylor & Francis, with content available across subject areas including economics, environment & sustainability, geography, history, law, media & cultural studies, politics, sociology and more.
World Book Online This link opens in a new window The WV Library Commission has added World Book Online to its WVInfoDepot.org database selections. Included in the subscription are the following resources: World Book Kids, World Book Student; World Book Advanced; World Book Discover; Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos; Early World Of Learning, World Book eBooks, and World Book Timelines.

PSC 412: Library Databases

Using the library databases

If Summon is like Google, and Google is the middle-man between you and the world's websites, then remember that Summon is the middle-man between you and the library's online resources (a "database" is simply where our online resources are housed).

Political Science

News & Stats

eBooks

Can't find something you need?