Skip to main content

Marshall Marshall University Libraries

Ask A Librarian HoursLibrary CatalogArticle Databases RESEARCH SERVICESHELPINFORMATION FOR...

Mathematics: General Reference Sources

This online guide is developed specifically for those doing research in Mathematics. It provides a recommended list of resources, which encompasses print materials, electronic databases, and selected Internet resources.

Credo Reference

Credo Logo

Biographical Sources

  • American Men & Women of Science - Ref. Q141.A47 - provides a short description of the life, education and work of the scientist.
  • The Biographical Dictionary of Scientists - Ref. QA 28 .B54 1986
  • Biography Index - Ref. Z5301.B5 - lists books, chapters and periodical articles about people. It has a subject index that allows searching by specialty.
  • Women of Mathematics - Ref. QA28.W66 1987

Math Reference Collection

The Reference Collection, located on the first floor of the Drinko Library, contains many print resources that provide useful background information:

CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics (Ref. QA 5 .W45 1999)

Handbook of Discrete and Combinatorial Mathematics (Ref. QA164 .H36 2000)

The International Dictionary of Applied Mathematics (Ref. QA5 .I5)

Rara Arithmetica (Z6654 .A7 S7, Morrow Library)

Standard Mathematical Tables & Formulae (Ref. QA 47. M315 2003)

Table of Series and Products (QA 295 .H25, Morrow Library)

Use of Mathematical Literature (QA41.7 .U83, Morrow Library)

Words of Mathematics: An Etymological Dictionary of Mathematical Terms Used in English (QA5 .S75 1994, Drinko Library)

Statistical Sources

CRC Handbook of Tables for Probability & Statistics (Ref. QA 276 .B48 1968)

Dealing With Statistics: What You Need to Know (online)

Oxford Dictionary of Statistical Terms (HA 17 .K4 2003, Drinko Library)

Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences (Ref. QA 276.14 E5 1982)

Handbook of Probability and Statistics, with tables (QA 273 .B925 1970, Morrow Library)

Topical Dictionary of Statistics (Ref. QA 276.14 T54 1986)