Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Libraries & Online Learning
View the inaugural issue of Marshall University's Libraries and Online Learning magazine:
Recent changes in the structure of the Graduate College has resulted in a new team of faculty responsible for reviewing the Theses and Dissertations of MU’s graduate and doctoral students.
The key point is that the process for you, your student, and their ETD committee will not change. Simply, the team of people you’ll be communicating with will.
This change went into effect January 1, 2021, and we encourage you to reach out to Eryn Roles (firstname.lastname@example.org), the committee chair, with any questions, though the committee will be releasing information in the months to come.
Special Collections has been hard at work during Covid-19 to improve electronic accessibility to archival and manuscript materials.
Digitization efforts include oral histories, Parthenon newspapers, university catalogs and more!
Materials are available full text searchable in Marshall Digital Scholar under Library Special Collections or University Archives at mds.marshall.edu.
- Request your library materials.*
- If you want to pickup your materials outside of library hours (view all hours), use the Locker Reservation link in your confirmation email. (Have a question? Email email@example.com.)
- Pickup your requested materials in the lockers in Drinko Library's 1st floor Vending Machine room: enter through the Study Center using your MUID.
- Reservations must be made at least 1 hour before the library closes for the day. Reservations made after closing will be for pickup the following evening.
*Learn how to request library materials with our No-Contact Borrowing Services: an item from the Regular Library Collections in Drinko, Morrow, or South Charleston; a Reserve item or Textbook Loan Program item.
Marshall Libraries staff would like to remind the Marshall community that library services, hours, and resources for the spring semester will be similar to those that were in place for the fall semester. They will continue No-Touch services to aid in controlling the spread of COVID-19 among faculty, staff and students. These services include:
- providing students safe places to study and attend online classes via the VHUB scheduler: https://marshall.libcal.com/reserve/drinko;
- use of the online Library Account platform and Interlibrary Loan systems to lend materials through No-Contact best practices;
- assisting with student and faculty research as well as library instruction needs via robust virtual options (both synchronous and asynchronous);
- quarantining all returned library materials for three days to limit the spread of germs;
- assisting students and faculty in finding materials through online databases -more than half of the 245 online databases provide instant access to full-text, scholarly research;
- providing information for Open Educational Resources (OERs) which are available in full for free, via the Digital, Technical, and Scholarly Communications Services team.
All library hours, including those for Morrow Library (Government Documents, Special Collections and Morrow Stacks) and the South Charleston Campus Library are available at www.marshall.edu/library/about/hours.
Please keep us, your Library Partner Team, in mind as you plan your research assignments because we can help walk your students through the research process via:
- Building a Library Guide based on your course needs
- Conducting a live (virtual) library instruction session
- Helping you and/or your students locate easy-to-access online resources
- Creating asynchronous library modules
Have a question about anything on this page? Have a question about something not on this page?
Just ask your library partner team: