Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian HoursLibrary CatalogArticle Databases RESEARCH SERVICESHELPINFORMATION FOR...

English 201 - Roth: Other Helpful Databases

This guide was created to help the students in Professor Roth's English 201 classes complete their final annotated bibliography and essay.

Advanced Searching

 

This page covers other databases that could help you with your research.

Reference Databases

Although reference databases are often not appropriate resources for a research assignment, these databases are a great starting point for your research and can provide you with background information about a topic that can help illuminate areas of interest for your research. 


CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher is often the first source that librarians recommend when researchers are seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.


Credo Reference 

Now offering more than 800 highly regarded reference titles from over 80 publishers, Credo Reference covers every major subject and also provides Topic Pages as a starting point for researchers.


Gale Databases 

Comprehensive collection of all Gale online reference sources including literary collections, reference e-books, and the National Geographic archives.


Points of View Reference Center 

Points of View Reference Center (Ebsco) is an interface intended for public, academic, and high school libraries. Points of View is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. High school and undergraduate students can use Points of View as a guide to debating, developing arguments, writing position papers, and developing critical thinking skills. Each Points of View Essay includes a series of questions and additional material to generate further thought. Also included are thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications. The Points of View Debate Blog is a forum for students to express and exchange their unique views on topics in the news.

Other Databases

Sometimes we need to need to focus our search and look at more specialized databases. Summon gives us ALL that the library has to offer, but sometimes this is too much information. Here is a list of other databases that could help you with your assignment.

This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
 
An integrated research experience, Artemis Literary Sources brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways. Includes access to online volumes of Dictionary of Literary Biography, Literature Criticism Online, and Something About the Author.
 
Digital Theatre Plus captures the moments before the curtain rises and after the curtain falls, providing valuable insight into the play making process.The documentaries and interviews introduce theatre as a vibrant, exciting art form. Full length performances including plays, musicals, and opera are included in the collection.
 
JSTOR's first collection, Arts & Sciences I, includes core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also contains titles in ecology, mathematics, and statistics. e-books are now part of the collection.
 
Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 111,430 CDs with more than 1,634,800 tracks of both standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CDs are added to the library every month.
 
Oxford Music Online is the gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location. With Grove Music Online as its cornerstone, Oxford Music Online also contains The Oxford Companion to Music (revised 2011), which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works; and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd edition (revised 2006), which supplements Grove's more-extensive articles with content geared toward undergraduates and general users.
 
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. Since 1995 the MUSE journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers currently participating.

 

Choosing Databases

One of the easiest ways to choose an appropriate database that has resources pertaining to your topic is to look for a subject-specific database. In "All Databases," simply click on the drop-down menu entitled "All Subjects." Make sure and also look at multidisciplinary databases, especially for this assignment.

 

Once you choose a subject, databases deemed "Best Bets" for your research are highlighted. Contact information for the appropriate librarian is also included.