Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Your starting point
For this class you will need to find relevant material related to the high profile cases that you will be arguing.
Academic Search Premier, Nexi Uni, Credo, and Summon are the four places that you should look first for information on your famous court cases. You can find direct links to these in the box listed as 'Articles' below. Should you need more information or help researching, please Ask a Librarian.
If you need to find the full court case citation, a good place to look is the Justia Dockets and Filings website. This website also helps you search and find Federal cases, dockets and filings from U.S. District Courts and U.S. Courts of Appeal here.
Nexis Uni™ replaces the former LexisNexis Academic database which is being retired by Lexis-Nexis. Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative work space with shared folders and annotated documents.
Now offering more than 800 highly regarded reference titles from over 80 publishers, Credo Reference covers every major subject and also provides Topic Pages as a starting point for researchers.
Legal reference books
Legal Words You Should Know by
Call Number: online through eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Publication Date: 2009
This book defines 1,000 essential words from the worlds of civil law, estates, lending, and elder affairs.
Black's Law Dictionary, Standard Ninth Edition by
Call Number: Drinko reference KF156 .B53 2009; South Charleston Library Reference KF156 .B53 1990
Publication Date: 2009; 1999; 1990
The standard dictionary for legal terms and phrases.
Bieber's Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations by
Call Number: Drinko reference KF246 .B46 1993
Publication Date: 1993
Book includes an extensive range of acronyms & symbols found in reporters, law reviews, and other legal works.
Merriam-Webster's Dictionary of Law by
Publication Date: 1996
A convenient, comprehensive guide to the language of law. Over 10,000 entries. Includes pronunciations, example phrases, and usage notes.