LibGuides: Safety Technology: Recommended Resources

Reference

Start your research with reference sources. You will find background information, statistics, and basic definitions.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Now offering more than 800 highly regarded reference titles from over 80 publishers, Credo Reference covers every major subject and also provides Topic Pages as a starting point for researchers.
Gale eBooks (GVRL) This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks (formerly known as Gale Virtual Reference Library) is a collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources with coverage in major subject areas.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a statistical database that draws more that 1 million statistics from over 18,000 sources. Dossiers, reports, and infographics are included. Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.

Recommended Databases

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
AccessEngineering from McGraw-Hill offers seamless access to the world's best-known, most-used collection of authoritative, regularly updated engineering reference information. AccessEngineering also comprises dynamic online features, such as instructional, faculty made videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts, as well as personalization tools allowing users to organize crucial project information as they work.
Nexis Uni™ This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Nexis Uni™ has an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

Government Documents

Marshall University has the 2nd largest federal depository of government documents in West Virginia. The Government Documents Department is located on the 1st floor of Morrow Library and is open 8:00 - 4:30 Monday - Friday. In addition to print and microfilm/microform sources, the Government Documents Departments also identifies many online sources. The online sources are easily searchable and can provide reputable information about issues surrounding safety, accidents, and corresponding regulations.

MarciveWeb DOCS This link opens in a new window
MarciveWeb DOCS database is the most comprehensive GPO database on the web. It’s updated weekly and contains full records back to 1976. Beginning with the September 2010 update, records from the GPO Historic Shelflist began to be added.

Government Documents
by Patsy Stephenson Last Updated Feb 12, 2024 103 views this year