Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Christian Preaching: Individual Preachers
John Donne Sermons
The BYU Harold B. Lee Library has compiled the sermons of John Donne, categorized by subject.
Jonathan Edwards Center at Yale University
The Jonathan Edwards Center at Yale University's canonical and chronological indexes of protestant preacher Jonathan Edwards' sermons. The JEC offers a corpus of thousands of sermons, letters, and treatises.
The National Institute for Newman Studies
A collection of 10 volumes of sermons by John Henry Newman. Sermons are indexed in a number of ways, including text, title, and topic. Indexes include both Newman's Anglican and Catholic sermons.
The Sermons of Rev. Ebenezer Parkman
This site is part of a larger project on the life and work of Ebenezer Parkman, who "served as the first minister of Westborough, Massachusetts, from 1724 until his death" in 1782. The index was created by Ross Beales, Professor Emeritus at the College of the Holy Cross in Worcester, Massachusetts.
The Spurgeon Archive
A collection of textual, title, and chronological indexes of the sermons of Charles Haddon Spurgeon. Known as the "prince of preachers," Spurgeon gave thousands of sermons during his ministry that can be found within The Spurgeon Archive.
Wesley Center Online
The Wesley Center Online provides alphabetical (by title), chronological, scripture text, and topical indexes of sermons by 18th century Anglican evangelist John Wesley.
Christian Preaching: Broader Indexes
Classic Sermon Index (subscription-based)
The Classic Sermon Index is a subscription-based textual index of more than 55,000 sermons. A smaller selection of sermons is also indexed by topic.
The Digital Puritan
A collection of reformed puritan sermons indexed by both scripture and topic.
Discipleship Library is a repository of Christian text and audio sermons indexed by topics, speakers, and Biblical text.
Gateway to Early Modern Manuscript Sermons (GEMMS)
From the GEMMS website: "GEMMS is a group-sourced online bibliographic database of early modern (1530-1715) manuscript sermons from the UK, Ireland and North America. This blog includes project updates, reflections on our work and profiles of manuscript sermon collections."
Hekman Library Sermon Index (limited to materials in the Calvin College library)
The HLSI is a catalogue of sermons contained in books in the Hekman Library, as well as sermons from the CRC periodical, The Living Word (no hyperlinks to sermons included). The index can be searched by scripture passage, author, keyword, or subject.
New England’s Hidden Histories
This site is sponsored by the Boston-based Congregational Library & Archives. The documents available here have been divided into "two series, one dealing specifically with actual records created by local churches and the other contextual items created by individuals, including sermons, diaries, correspondence, and rare theological works."
The Reformed Reader
A collection of small sermon indexes based on the sermons of reformed baptist speakers like George Whitefield and Charles Spurgeon.
A free index of text and audio sermons categorized by speaker, topic, and scripture text.
Sermon Notebooks Online
This project is maintained by Meredith Neuman, an English professor at Clark University in Worcester MA. It grew out of her 2013 book "Jeremiah's Scribes: Creating Sermon Literature in Puritan New England" and is intended to make her "idiosyncratic manuscript sources more available for students and researchers."
A Textual Index to Puritan & Reformed Sermons
The PCA Historical Center (the archives & manuscript repository for the continuing Presbyterian Church) provides a textual index for puritan and reformed sermons. While the index does not provide access to the volumes referenced, it is a helpful search tool for determining which theologians spoke on a particular text.
Transcribing Early American Manuscript Sermons
The website describes TEAMS as "a collaborative scholarly effort to make the voluminous archival record of seventeenth- and eighteenth-century ecclesiastical worship more accessible to academic researchers, pastors, and the general public." The collection can be browsed, or searched by preacher, denomination, biblical text, and other fields.
American Jewish Archives
The American Jewish Archives are housed at Union Hebrew College in Cincinnati. Their holdings include over 700 sermons, which can be located by searching their online catalog.
This site appears to be loosely affiliated with the Royal Holloway University of London. It is "intended to provide inspirational and motivational material for those who have to prepare and deliver the Friday Khutbah in English."
American Religious Sounds Project
As the name suggests, this project is dedicated to exploring and preserving the sounds of religion in the United States. Audio files available on the site include sermons, musical pieces, and a host of other works.
Thanks to Shoshannah Diehl, English MA student at Marshall University, for contributing some of the links on this page.