Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian HoursLibrary CatalogArticle Databases RESEARCH SERVICESHELPINFORMATION FOR...

Art and Design: Websites

A basic research guide to Art and Design for Marshall University students.

Source Evaluation

Anyone can write anything on the Internet. That's why it is very important to verify that a web site is authentic before using information from it or citing it in your project. Check out these guides for evaluating web sites created by other schools:

Selected Art History Websites

 

West Virginia Arts Websites  WV Division of Cutlure and History                                                                                                                                                                                                                

ArtsEdNet A division of the Getty Foundation, provides classroom resources, lesson plans and curriculum guides, a chat room, and a search box for specific topics.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            

Timeline of Art History (Metropolitan Museum of Art,NY) - presents a chronological, geographical and tehmatic exploration of art through 1600 A.D.

Gallica Digital collection from the National Library of France. Over 1,00,000 digital books, periodicals, manuscripts, maps, images, sound recordings, scores, etc.

Europeana Collection of about 6 million digital items from museums, libraries, and archives in Europe. Includes works of art, photos, maps, books, letters, diaries, newspapers, texts, sound recordings, films, etc.


Digital Michelangelo Project View 3-D models of the David, other Michelangelo sculptures, and fragments of the Forma Urbis Romae, a huge marble map of ancient Rome. Learn the process of digital scanning of 3D artworks, and how the information helped in the restoration of the David.


Dante Gabriel Rossetti Archive Search the archive for all of Rossetti's pictorial and textual works.

 
 
 

Professional Organizations