LibGuides: Art and Design: Reference

Citing Sources

Citing sources is a required part of any research project. If you fail to cite or cite properly, consequences can be severe. MU Libraries have prepared some quick guides to the most common citation styles and have identified resources that assist in preparing citations.

MU Libraries Citing Sources
Quick guides and links to citation resources

Reference Databases

Consulting reference sources is a great way to start your research. Remember that most professors will not accept work that uses information from Wikipedia. Many of the library reference sources are available online. Here are some examples.

CQ Researcher
In-depth articles on "hot" topics and controversial issues.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Collection of full text, PDF encyclopedias with coverage in arts, history, literature, and science.
Grolier Encyclopedia
Online encyclopedia that will appeal to young and middle school students. Includes information for teachers including curriculum standards and some suggested lessons. Provided by the WV Library Commission as part of WV Info Depot.
Literati by Credo
Large collection of online encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources. Specialized topic pages provide in-depth research on a variety of topics.
Oxford English Dictionary
Outstanding source for definitions, etymologies of words, and much more.
Points of View
Research "hot" topics or contemporary issues with point-counterpoint content. Information about the research process is also available.
World News Digest
Online equivalent of Facts on File and Editorials on File. Includes background and analysis of news since 1940 and also has research tools such as almanacs and encyclopedias.

Featured Reference Books

Encyclopedia of American folk art
For a full list of entries, contributors, and more, visit the Encyclopedia of American Folk Art web site. This is the first comprehensive, scholarly study of a most fascinating aspect of American history and culture. Generously illustrated with both black and white and full-color photos, this A-Z encyclopedia covers every aspect of American folk art, encompassing not only painting, but also sculpture, basketry, ceramics, quilts, furniture, toys, beadwork, and more, including both famous and lesser-known genres.
Atlas of world art
The Atlas of World Art maps the cumulative traces of humankind's artistic activity and demonstrates the importance of physical and political geography for the history of the world's art. This stunning volume is the first to treat the art of the whole world from prehistory to present day and to show the importance of natural and social factors in shaping artistic activity. .
The Oxford companion to Western art
The original Oxford Companion to Art, edited by the late Harold Osborne, has been a mainstay for over three decades, a renowned one-volume guide to the world of art. Now comes The Oxford Companion to Western Art, almost completely rewritten, covering many more artists and their works, and offering fresh treatment of topics of contemporary interest, including patronage, taste, theory and criticism, materials and techniques, and the new art history.
Art, the critics' choice : 150 masterpieces of western art selected and defined by the experts
In a refreshingly different approach to art history, this masterful survey tells the story of art through a cross-section of exemplary works selected, explained, and explored by word-renowned experts.
Art of the 20th century : a year-by-year chronicle of painting, architecture, and sculpture

Sabrina Thomas

Eryn Roles

She/Her

Email Me

Subjects: Art, Communication Studies, History, Language & Literature, Women's Studies