LibGuides: SOM: Articles and Clinical Databases

Articles and Clinical Databases

Alt-HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.
ASM Online Journals This link opens in a new window
Prominent publications in the field, delivering up-to-date and authoritative coverage of both basic and clinical microbiology.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete provides broad content coverage including over 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more. With CINAHL Complete users get fast and easy access to top nursing and allied health journals, evidence-based care sheets and quick lessons.
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, childrens health, men & womens health, etc.
Provided by the WV Library Commission
Dimensions This link opens in a new window
Dimensions lets you search and analyze over 150 million interlinked data items from across the research world. You can locate items from publications to grants, clinical trials, patents, datasets, and policy documents, then view them in context, analyze results in bulk, and trace relationships. Dimensions is similar to platforms such as Pubmed, Scopus and Web of Science, but with a much wider and more open scope.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines. Provided by the WV Library Commission.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
JAMA Network This link opens in a new window
Network of authoritative, peer-reviewed journals with cutting-edge research, informative review, and thought-provoking opinion across medical specialties. MU Libraries' subscribes to most but not all of the titles available on the JAMA Network.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals
Nursing & Allied Health This link opens in a new window
This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
PsycARTICLES (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database offers full-text articles for journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals. Many titles go back to volume 1, issue 1. Coverage: 1894 - current.
Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
This database provides abstracts and indexing for key Psychology titles, many which are available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
PsycINFO (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database is published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in PsycINFO are peer-reviewed. Coverage: 1806 - current

PubChem
PubChem is an open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). “Open” means that you can put your scientific data in PubChem and that others may use it. Since the launch in 2004, PubChem has become a key chemical information resource for scientists, students, and the general public. PubChem is a collection of information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Abstracts may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Science Direct
Contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full-text and bibliographic information in both books and journal formats. Authoritative titles that include high-impact-factor titles such as THE LANCET, Cell and Tetrahedron. Online tutorials show how to customize searches, save search results, and create alerts.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for 550 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1985, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports & sports medicine literature.

UpToDate
Clinicians around the world trust UpToDate as their go-to, must-have evidence-based clinical decision support resource to help them make smart, safe patient care decisions.

Health Science Librarian

Anna Hughes

Email Me

Contact:

Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine
Suite 2400, Office 2404

Erma Ora Byrd Clinical Center
Suite 1015, Office 1016

304-691-1750

A-Z ejournals

eJournal Search