Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Since 2006 Marshall University Libraries and the MU Alumni Association have worked together to provide continued library services with select database access to thousands of MU alumni.
Database access is managed through the MU Alumni Association website. Qualified alumni can also arrange for borrowing privileges as described in this guide.
If you have questions or need assistance, let one of know.
Ask a Librarian
Librarians may be able to assist you with library-related questions. You can email, call, visit, or chat with a librarian.
Just Ask a Librarian.
- Must be a member of the MU Alumni Association
- Must get a picture MUID from the MUID office located on the first floor of Drinko Library
How do I become a member?
- Donations for Alumni association membership are processed through the Alumni Association webpage or in person at the Erikson Alumni Center (library cannot take Alumni Association membership dues).
- Visit the Drinko Library and present your Alumni Association card or donation receipt to the Drinko Circulation Desk. Circulation staff can create a library account.
- Present your Alumni Association membership card at the MUID office to have a photo MUID printed.
Hours of availability for alumni card processing:
- Alumni Center and MUID Office are open Monday - Friday 8:00 am - 4:30 pm.
Privileges and exclusions:
- 6 week checkout of university owned materials (up to 10 items at a time) *some materials will have other checkout periods (DVDs, CDs, Scores)
- Access to the following databases: 1) Business Source Alumni Edition 2) Academic Search Alumni Edition. All other databases are available to students, staff, and faculty ONLY due to licensing agreements
- Access to print journals
- Access to scanners and photocopiers
- Computer lab access is restricted to current students, faculty and staff
- ILL and EZBorrow access is restricted to current student and faculty use only
- Equipment checkout restricted to current student, staff, and faculty only (this includes laptops, cameras, etc)
- Checkout privileges are suspended after $5 in unpaid fines
Alumni Database Access
Qualified alumni have access to two databases so they can continue to have access to academic, scholarly, and professional information. Search and find thousands of fulltext articles. Find company profiles and reports. Locate in-depth research articles through
- Academic Search Alumni Edition: designed for the research needs of the post-college professional. The database provides full text for more than 3,350 journals as well as indexing and abstracting for more than 8,200 journals. Academic Search Alumni Edition also includes valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, offering critical information from many sources.
- Business Source Alumni Edition: The database provides 1,540 full text business magazines and journals, of which 780 are peer-reviewed. This database includes publications in nearly every area of business including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics, economics and more.
Access to these databases is through a secure portal on the MU Alumni Association website. When you make a donation, you qualify for access.