Skip to main content
Ask A Librarian HoursLibrary CatalogArticle Databases RESEARCH SERVICESHELPINFORMATION FOR...

GEO 616: Home

This guide is intended to assist students in Dr. James Leonard's graduate-level course.

Start Here

Welcome to the research guide for GEO 616: Geographical Research Methods, taught by Dr. James Leonard. The purpose of this guide is to provide helpful information and access to resources you may need in order to complete your research assignments. 

Guide Contents

Source Types & Evaluation

In today's world of endless information, it's critical that you understand the difference between the many types of sources, as well as how to critically and effectively evaluate them. On this page, you will be directed to information pages for popular/scholarly sources, primary/secondary sources, and internet sources. You will also view the necessary steps to take in order to assess those sources to determine whether or not to use them in your research. 

Library Summon Search

Sometimes referred to as the "Library Google Search," Summon allows you to search for all of the information that Marshall Libraries has to offer, whether it is online in a database, or in print in one of our library buildings. On this page, you will learn how to perform better searches using Summon.

Library Databases

On the this page for scholarly resources, you will see a list of research databases that will provide many different types of online materials, such as eBooks, articles, studies, dissertations, and peer-reviewed sources. 

Internet Databases

On this page are two lists of free internet resources: Census and GIS. With one exception, all of the links are to US Government websites, and are considered trustworthy and up-to-date. The only other database listed is for a non-profit database created by a professor at UC Davis. 

Citing Sources

Citing sources can be difficult without worrying about maps and datasets. The resources on this page provide trustworthy and up-to-date citation information for reference pages, in-text citations, and annotated bibliographies. 

Help

As a Marshall University student, you have access to free help pretty much anytime you may need it. The information on this page will list all of the ways you can ask for help, as well as how to schedule a one-on-one research appointment.

Drinko Library- Where all the cool people hang out.

Marshall  University Libraries

Writing Center

IT Service Desk

 

Follow MU Libraries!