Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Create a choropleth map: Helpful resources
Statista is a statistical database that draws more that 1 million statistics from over 18,000 sources. Dossiers, reports, and infographics are included. Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.
Finding data in library databases
Some of our library databases will provide Advanced Search options that can efficiently result in finding sources that feature data or statistics within the text. One example is the database called Academic Search Premier:
- From the Marshall Libraries homepage, locate the Find Databases box. Click on it, then click on All Databases.
- Then, from the database list, click on Academic Search Premier.
- From the Academic Search Premier page, you will see many different Advanced Search options:
- In the Document Type box, you may want to select Case Study or Report.
- In the Image Quick View Types box, you may want to select Graph, Map, or Chart.
The websites below are primarily US government websites (.gov) that are freely available on the internet. They provide trustworthy, up-to-date information for data, including census and GIS information. You can access each site by clicking on the green URL.
United States Census Bureau
Explore Census Data
National Archives Census Records
USA.GOV: Data and Statistics about the United States
United States Census Bureau Census Data Mapper
United States Geological Society (USGS) GIS Data
NOAA Office of Coast Survey GIS Data
FEMA Reports & Data
National Weather Service GIS Portal
DIVA-GIS (a non-profit source developed by Robert J. Hijmans, Associate Professor of International Agricultural Development at University of California, Davis.)
Not sure about an internet source?
If a source looks useful but you're unable to evaluate it properly, go to the next section (or Ask a Librarian!).