It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In the list below, read the sentence for each database to decided if it contains information relevant to your topic. Then, simply click on the database title (green text) to access it.
A - Z History Databases (click the title to access the database; hover over the "i" icon to learn more about the database)
Academic Video Online (Alexander Street platform)Academic Video Online (AVOn) on the Alexander Street (a ProQuest company) platform is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 67,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Academic Video Online (ProQuest platform)Academic Video Online (AVOn), searchable as part of the ProQuest One Academic database on the ProQuest platform, makes video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, and more. Search for award-winning films including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners and access content from PBS, BBC, 60 MINUTES, National Geographic, Annenberg Learner, BroadwayHD™, A+E Networks’ HISTORY® and more.
Adam Matthew Digital CollectionsAccess millions of pages of primary source collections across the entire portfolio of Adam Matthew Digital, spanning content from the 15th-21st centuries. Contains award-winning digital resources spanning the social sciences and humanities, developed in collaboration with leading libraries and archives.
Alternative Press IndexAlternative Press Index (API) is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Born of the New Left, the API was launched in 1969 to provide access to the emerging theories and practices of radical social change. API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary. Coverage begins in 1991.
America: History & Life with Full TextAmerica: History & Life with Full Text is the definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
AnthroSourceAnthrosource offers access to more than 100 years of anthropological knowledge. It serves the research, teaching and practicing needs of anthropologists. An online service of the American Anthropological Association (AAA), Anthrosource provides current content from AAA's diverse portfolio of 32 anthropological publications which includes journals, books, monographs, bulletins and newsletters.
ArchiveGridArchiveGrid provides online access to nearly a million descriptions of archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies and archives worldwide.
e-WV: The West Virginia EncyclopediaThe West Virginia Encyclopedia is the comprehensive reference resource for the Mountain State of West Virginia. Based on the best-selling West Virginia Encyclopedia, e-WV offers thousands of articles on West Virginia’s people and places, history, arts, science and culture. e-WV is a project of the West Virginia Humanities Council.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) consists of more than 200,000 items from Academic, Business, Clinical, Community College, Engineering, History, Public Library, Religion, and University Press collections. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) has the same content as eBooks on EBSCOhost. Click below to find out more.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) goes to the main EBSCO platform where you can choose to simultaneously search multiple databases in addition to the ebook collections. If you want to only search the ebooks collections, try the eBooks on EBSCOhost database below.
eBook History Collection (EBSCO)This collection features history titles across a variety of subjects, including Medieval History, History of Music, History of Science, History of the World, History of the Caribbean & West Indies, History of the Holocaust, Law in History, History of Philosophy, History of Africa, Art History, History of Technology & Engineering, History of Business & Economics, History of the Middle East, History of Latin America, History of Canada, History of Asia, History of Religion, History of Europe, History of the Military and History of the United States.
eBooks on EBSCOhostThe EBSCO ebook collection consists of more than 200,000 items from Academic, Business, Clinical, Community College, Engineering, History, Public Library, Religion, and University Press collections. How to access e-books.
Thousands of e-books in this multi-disciplinary collection. Most e-books can be downloaded to portable devices.
Gale Literary ResourcesAn integrated research experience that brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways. Includes access to online volumes of Dictionary of Literary Biography, Literature Criticism Online, and Something About the Author.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. History and social science researchers have used Historical Abstracts to discover significant and groundbreaking work for more than 50 years."Abstracts" means this database points you towards the resources, but does not provide the full text for the resource itself. You can always Ask a Librarian for help finding items not found in Summon.
Marshall University Special Collections Online DatabaseThis index provides information about thousands of the documents, images, manuscripts, and other media available through the Marshall University Special Collections. The collection focuses on the history of Marshall University, Huntington, the state of West Virginia, and the surrounding Appalachian region. This collection is updated regularly and is a great starting point for primary source materials.
MAS Reference eBook CollectionThis ebook reference collection offers a rich selection of eBook titles covering a broad range of general reference subjects for high school students. Topics include biography, history, careers, language arts, literature, government, health, math, science, current events, and social-emotional health.
MasterFILE Reference eBook CollectionThis ebook reference collection offers a rich selection of eBook titles covering a broad range of general reference subjects. Topics include biography, history, careers, cooking, literature, genealogy, health, parenting, personal finance, politics, architecture, science, current events, social-emotional health, sports, and travel.
Military & Government CollectionDesigned to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.
ProQuest CentralProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
ProQuest Recent Newspapers: The New York TimesThe full-page images of this digitized newspaper provide genealogists, researchers and scholars with cover-to-cover access to recent newspaper content. Every page is full-text searchable. Coverage: 2008 - recent (3-month embargo).
Research LibraryProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics. in all instances.
TOPICsearchTOPICsearch contains full text for over 150,961 articles from 475 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, EBSCO's unparalleled collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.
U.S. News & World Report Magazine ArchiveThe U. S. News & World Report Magazine Archive (1926-1984) database consists of the influential news magazine U. S. News & World Report (1948-1984) -- plus the predecessor titles: United States Daily (1926-1933), United States News (1933-1948), and World Report (1946-1948). Each title features cover to cover processing, which renders all of the content from the front cover to the back cover fully searchable, including the advertisements.
World News DigestWorld News Digest brings together and enhances nearly seven decades of news from the renowned Facts On File World News Digest in print. This archival record of domestic and international news is updated weekly and contains more than 1 million internal hyperlinks and convenient new features such as tabbed search results. It covers all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940. This publication of record is unrivaled for its depth, breadth, and accuracy.