Skip to main content
Ask A Librarian HoursLibrary CatalogArticle Databases RESEARCH SERVICESHELPINFORMATION FOR...

Music Research Guide: About the Music Library

This online guide is developed specifically for those doing research in music. It provides a recommended list of resources which encompasses print materials, electronic databases, and selected Web resources.

Library Information

Overview

The Music Library is the primary source for music and music literature in the Marshall University Libraries. It provides resources and information services to support the University's programs in music and music education, as well as serving music reference and research needs for the University and local community.

The Collection

Supporting the instruction and research needs of the Music Department, the library collection includes more than 17,000 sound recordings (tape, LP & CD format), 12,000 scores, music education materials and a sizeable reference collection. Although its primary focus is classical, a growing number of jazz, folk, and popular materials are acquired as well. The periodicals are located in both Drinko and Morrow Libraries. Recent books on music topics are located in the Music Library while older editions are available in the Morrow stacks. Locations for all materials are indicated in the on-line catalog.

Circulation

The Music Library is open to all members of the campus community as well as those community patrons who pay an annual fee for a special patron card. Information about loan periods for various formats is available at the circulation desk.

Information Delivery

Marshall University faculty, staff, and students may borrow materials from other libraries under the provisions of this service.

  • If the Music Library does not own the items needed, they can often be borrowed from other libraries through the E-Z Borrow service or Information Delivery Services (interlibrary loan).
  • For IDS requests, the citation source, e.g., library catalog, periodical index, published bibliography, etc. is needed so that verification of the item is available.

Reference

Basic reference service is provided by the staff in the Music Library and includes assistance for use of the online catalog, indexes, and other reference materials. More complex or specialized questions may be referred to the Music Librarian. Group or individual instruction about resources and/or use of the library materials are available upon request.

Reserves

Material may be placed on reserve for assigned classwork. It may be designated for in-library use or assigned circulation periods of one or more days.

Listening Facilities

Turntables, CD players, and tape decks are available for individual listening. Compact discs and tapes may be checked out with a valid ID card; LP recordings are to be used in the library only. Personnel at the circulation desk will be happy to provide assistance in the use of any of the equipment.

Computer Facilities

The computer lab area contains Macintosh machines PC's for searching the online catalog, accessing internet resources and using word processing.

Guide Owner