Welcome
Hello! Welcome to Marshall University Libraries English libguide. A libguide is a good place to kick off research. Essentially a libguide is a librarian created portal to high quality research information. Please feel free to Ask A Librarian if you have any questions or concerns.
English Department Professor Book Spotlight
Terms, Backgrounds, Definitions
Terminology, Background & Definitions
The Reference Collection (First Floor, Drinko Library) contains many specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, and guides that provide definitions, background information, critical surveys, and bibliographies.
-
A Handbook to Literature 6th edition Ref. PN41 .H6 1992
Gives generally brief definitions, with related examples, of terms related to literature in English. Alphabetically arranged. -
A Dictionary of Literary Terms and Literary Theory Ref. PN41 .C83 1991
Alphabetical listing of terms, genres, phrases, movements, themes, motifs, concepts, and other categories related to literature and literary theory. -
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Literary Theory Ref. PN81 .E43 1993
Three sections to this volume cover in an alphabetical arrangement: critical approaches, individual scholars, and terminology. Signed articles are 2-3 pages and include primary and secondary bibliographies. Published by the University of Toronto. -
The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism Ref. PN 81 .J554 1994
An alphabetically arranged volume that provides substantial, signed articles on individual critics, theories, and topics. -
The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics Ref. PN1021 .N39 1993
Signed articles, with bibliographic references, that define and illustrate terms, discuss movements, survey national poetries, define poetic forms, and other topics that relate to poetry. -
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Ref. PE1625 .O87 1989
Also an online version is available from the Reference Desk.
The definitive source for everything about words--their definitions, derivations, and history of changes in meaning over time. -
Benét's Reader's Encyclopedia Ref. PN41 .B4 1987
Short, unsigned articles, alphabetically arranged, that define and explain literary terms, works, authors, places, and characters. -
Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century Ref. PN771 .E5 1999
Substantial signed articles with global coverage of the authors, topics, and literary movements of the 20th century. -
The Oxford Companion to African American Literature Ref. PS153.N5 O96 1997
Provides extensive signed articles, including historical overviews, biographies of authors and other important people, discussions of major works and character types. -
Dictionary of Native American Literature Ref. PM155 .D53 1994
Lengthy, signed articles on types of literature, historical development, and important writers. -
Encyclopedia of Feminist Literary Theory Ref. PN98.W64 E53 1997
Short, signed articles with bibliographies on the people, terms, and topics related to feminist theory. -
The Gay and Lesbian Literary Heritage : A Reader's Companion to the Writers and their Works, from Antiquity to the Present Ref. PN56.H57 G365 1995
Signed articles that provide overviews and in-depth critical essays on writers, topics, and terms.
Research and Instruction Services Librarian |
JavaScript disabled. Links: Profile & Guides |




Loading...
