Religious Studies: Ancient Religions

To find books and materials in the Marshall University Libraries on Religion, click on the library catalog, and select the Subject tab. Enter any of the following terms to find materials on ancient religions:

• Assyro-Babylonian Religion
• Celts - Religion
• Druids and Druidism
• Egypt - Religion
• Greece - Religion
• Mysteries, Religious
• Mythology
• Paganism
• Rome - Religion

These are only some of the subject terms. Use the Library of Congress Subject Headings (Reference Desk) to find all the possible subject headings.

In addition, the Keyword Search option can be used.

To browse in the stacks, use:

• BL300-BL325 - Mythology
• BL610 - Mysteries, Religious
• BL700-820 - Classical Religions (Greek, Roman, etc.)
• BL1600-1695 - Semitic Religions (Sumerian, Assyro-Babylonian, Canaanite, etc.)
• BL2420-BL2460 - Egyptian Religions

The Reference Collection, located on the first floor of Drinko Library, contains many print resources that provide useful background information:

• The Cambridge Ancient History - Ref. D57.C251
• Crowell's Handbook of Classical Mythology - Ref. BL303.T75 1970
• Dictionary of Celtic Mythology - Ref. BL900.E45 1992
• Dictionary of Classical Mythology - Ref. BL715.B44 1982
• A Dictionary of Irish Mythology - Ref. BL980.I7E45 1989
• Gods and Heroes - Ref. BL715.H3
• The Gods and Symbols of Ancient Egypt: An Illustrated Dictionary - Ref. BL2428.L8713
• The Golden Bough: A Study in Magic and Religion (12 vols.) - BL310.F7 1970
• Larousse World Mythology - Ref. BL311.G683
• Mythologies of the World: A Concise Encyclopedia - Ref. BL303.M95

Some useful online resources for this topic are:

• The Assyro-Babylonian Mythology FAQ
• Encyclopedia Mythica contains articles on mythologies from around the world.
• Perseus Project contains a section on Greek religious life.