LibGuides: Pharmacy Research Guide: Journal & Magazine Articles

Finding Journals

Finding Journal Articles

Use Journals Search to see which journals Marshall has in hard-copy, microfilm or full-text and their location.

The Pharmacy Core Journals tab has a list of pharmacy journals available via Marshall.

Any article not found via these means can be requested via IDS/Interlibrary Loan.

Drug Information

Micromedex

Up-To-Date

AMA Citation Style

AMA Citation Style - Purdue OWL

AMA manual of style : a guide for authors and editors by JAMA Network editors
ISBN: 9780190246556
Publication Date: 2020
A must-have guide for those seeking to publish research findings and anyone involved in medical, health, or scientific writing and publishing.

Journal & Magazine Articles

The online and print databases and indexes listed below will provide references to articles (or in some cases full-text articles) in a wide range of periodicals, from news magazines and newspapers to scholarly and professional journals. If you have questions about choosing or using a database or index, please consult a Librarian

Full-Text Databases

AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
AccessPharmacy from McGraw-Hill gives pharmacy students instant access to videos, games, Q&A, and leading pharmacy textbooks that will establish an important foundation for learning; enables pharmacy instructors to create, track, and report their students’ progress through a custom curriculum that eases workflow; and allows practicing pharmacists to get information instantly about drugs, herbs and supplements, and consult features and editorials concerning the vast array of current pharmacy publications.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals. (NOTE: Replaces Academic Search Premier)
Burger's Medicinal Chemistry, Drug Discovery, and Development (7th ed.) This link opens in a new window
[Subscription under review. The 8th edition is published. Content later than the 7th edition is currently not available to MU at this time.]
Burger's Medicinal Chemistry, Drug Discovery and Development provides a comprehensive source on medicinal chemistry and drug discovery and development. This authoritative resource incorporates the entire drug development cycle (preclinical testing, clinical trials, etc.), alongside medicinal chemistry and drug discovery.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Nursing & Allied Health This link opens in a new window
This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full-text and bibliographic information in both books and journal formats. Authoritative titles that include high-impact-factor titles such as THE LANCET, Cell and Tetrahedron. Online tutorials show how to customize searches, save search results, and create alerts.
SpringerLINK This link opens in a new window
Full text access to more than 3000 journals, with the ability to search across the table of contents and abstracts of all journals. Includes journals in the humanities, sciences, medicine, and social sciences.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
The world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content.
As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals. (NOTE: Replaces Business Source Premier)

Indexes & Bibliographic Databases

These databases and print indexes will provide citation information (author, article title, periodical name, volume & issue, date) for articles, essays, book chapters, dissertations, and other materials, which may be found in the MU Libraries by searching the library catalog or ordered from another library using the Information Delivery Services (IDS) if the items are not owned by MU Libraries.

MEDLINE Recommended PubMed Medline | EBSCO Host Medline | ProQuest Medline
Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE includes citations and abstracts from medical journals and provides authoritative information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. There is some linked full-text available depending on which MEDLINE platform you use--ProQuest, EBSCO, PubMed.
CINAHL Complete Recommended
CINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This database provides indexing for 2,857 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982.
ProQuest: Science Database
Citations and abstracts in six databases, mostly in the biological and life sciences, aquatics, and geography. Coverage: varies; most beginning in early 1980's.
SciFinder Scholar
SciFinder is a research discovery tool that allows college students and faculty to access a wide diversity of research from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more! To use SciFinder Scholar you must set up your own account from a Marshall computer using the following link https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=EEA4624D-86F3-5055-6C9E-6E471419AA4D.

See also the All List of Databases for more detailed list of all databases

Subject Guide

Ron Titus

Email Me

Contact:

Drinko Library
Marshall University
1 John Marshall Drive
Huntington, WV 25504

304-696-6575

Subjects: Biology & Environmental Science, Chemistry & Physics, Classics & Humanities, Government, Language & Literature, Mathematics, Nursing, Allied Health & Medicine, Religion & Philosophy, Science & Technology