Psychology: Reference Sources

This book presents current research in the field of abnormal psychology. Topics discussed include self-harm in adolescence and young adulthood; depression and a parenting intervention; a hermeneutic approach to culture and psychotherapy; psychotic symptoms in children and adolescents; treatment approaches to aggressive behavior in schizophrenia; fetal origins of antisocial personality disorder; neurobiology of borderline personality disorder; patterns of interpersonal behaviors and borderline personality characteristics; the psychology of body image and borderline personality and sexual impulsivity.

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development remains the most authoritative and accessible account of all aspects of child development. Written by an international team of experts, its comprehensive coverage includes everything from prenatal development to adolescence, pediatrics, theories and research methods, physical development, social and emotional development, perceptual and cognitive development, language development, psychopathology, and parenting. The second edition has also been thoroughly updated to reflect major developments over the last decade in areas such as neuroscientific methods, developmental cognitive and social neuroscience, the effects of environmental influences on gene expression, and the relationship between human development and evolution. Throughout 124 entries, the Encyclopedia advocates an integrated, interdisciplinary approach to the study of child development. With clear, jargon-free style and user-friendly format, this is the essential reference for researchers and students of child development, as well as healthcare professionals, social workers, educators, and anyone interested in the well-being of children.

This book presents current research in the field of cognitive psychology. Topics discussed include a new perspective on human consciousness; cognitive rehabilitation in middle-aged Alzheimer patients; cognitive theory of obsessions; the cognitive effects of anxiety on sexual arousal; conceptual combination; TP-theory as a new perspective on cognitive psychology; peripheral responses elicited by motor imagery and preverbal category formation.

With more than 400 entries, the Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology presents a thorough overview of the cross-disciplinary field of industrial and organizational psychology for students, researchers, and professionals in the areas of psychology, business, management, and human resources. In two volumes, readers are provided with state-of-the-art research and ready-to-use facts.

The Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology is the first authoritative guide to synthesize the dynamic field of multicultural psychology. This volume includes entries on a broad array of issues and covers the breadth of psychology viewed through the lens of the racial and ethnic minority experience. The Encyclopedia addresses culture across a broad spectrum of psychological perspectives and includes topics that are relevant to social psychology, cognitive psychology, environmental psychology, cross-cultural psychology, and clinical psychology.

This book presents important research advances in the study of psychology research. Topics discussed herein include cultural psychology; meta-mood research; child and adolescent psychiatry; psychological influences on child nutrition; psychotherapy of addictive diseases; sexual hormones and aggressive behaviour in schizophrenia; Asperger syndrome; personality traits of intelligence; and the expression patterns of bizarre behaviour.

The Encyclopedia of Social Psychology is designed as a road map to this rapidly growing and important field and provides individuals with a simple, clear, jargon-free introduction. These two volumes include more than 600 entries chosen by a diverse team of experts to comprise an exhaustive list of the most important concepts. Entries provide brief, clear, and readable explanations to the vast number of ideas and concepts that make up the intellectual and scientific content in the area of social psychology.

Encompasses all areas of research and application, and includes coverage of concepts, processes, and therapies across all the major subdisciplines of psychology. and balanced coverage of over 100 subject areas across the field of psychology.

The descriptive labels of principle, law, theory, model, paradigm, effect, hypothesis and doctrine are attached to many of the entries, and all such descriptive labels are subsumed under the umbrella term theory.

This Handbook provides an encyclopedic-style source regarding the major concerns in forensic psychology. Each entry provides a succinct outline of the topic, describes current thinking, identifies relevant consensual or contested aspects and alternative positions.

Presents the foundations of major theories of personality. Volume 1 describes specialized theoretical models and demonstrates the impact that personality has on functioning. Volumes 2 and 3 describe the major classifications of psychological disorders in adults and children as well as the most popular treatment modalities.

Used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, the criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings.

The editors have created an indispensable reference and teaching tool for trainees, trainers, and clinicians of child and adolescent psychiatry. The book's foundation is its thirty compelling and carefully narrated cases.

Also available as an Ebsco database. Designed to assist professionals in selecting and using standardized tests, the series provides factual information, critical reviews, and comprehensive bibliographic references on the construction, use, and validity of all tests published in English.