Skip to main content

Marshall Marshall University Libraries

Ask A Librarian HoursLibrary CatalogArticle Databases RESEARCH SERVICESHELPINFORMATION FOR...

Faculty Resources provided by Marshall University Libraries: Research/Reference

Resources and services for faculty - provided by Marshall University Libraries

Ask A Librarian

Need assistance?  Want your students to consult with a librarian to find relevant resources?  Visit our Ask a Librarian page!  Here users can interact with us via live chat, email and telephone.  Users may also schedule a research consultation for more involved questions and research needs.

Reference Materials (print and online)

The traditional print Reference Collection recently moved to the first floor of Drinko Library (journals and indices are still on the second floor). It contains many print resources that provide useful background information. Many of our Reference resources are now available online


Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia


Gale Virtual Reference Library


Points of View


Credo Literati Reference (full text)  

Nearly 400 online reference sources that are cross searchable. Includes images, maps, conversion calculator, and a crossword search box.


CQ Researcher -

The CQ Researcher is often the first source that librarians recommend when researchers are seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published weekly in print and online 44 times a year by CQ Press, a division of Congressional Quarterly Inc.

Each single-themed, 12,000-word report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist. The consistent, reader-friendly organization provides researchers with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.

 

Subject Guide

Kelli Johnson's picture
Kelli Johnson
 
Contact:
Drinko Library 125